Pollo Bianco Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Oct. 8, 2003
If I could give this recipe 10 stars I would! This was FABULOUS : ) I just made this last night, although I did make some slight changes. I used chicken breasts, instead of thighs, and increased the olive oil to 3 Tbls. I also seasoned the chicken liberally (before browning in oil) with salt, pepper, and garlic powder. I also cooked the onions much longer than the recipe stated (about 13 minutes) because I like to get my onions really carmalized and bring out their flavor-be careful not to burn them! I served the chicken with oven roasted potatoes as suggested (I used yukon gold potatoes, quarted them, and tossed them with olive oil, cumin, salt, pepper, garlic powder, and paprika-baked at 475 degrees for 20 minutes) and I did toss the potatoes with the onion mixture. Very, very simple and it tastes out of this world! Do not be fooled by it's simplicity, and do not hesitate to add your own spices as this recipe is a wonderful base that can be adjusted to suit any palate. A +++++
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
58 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 26, 2001
I tried this recipe twice. I liked it. Although, The second time I added a few dashes of spices like:garlic powder, paprika, chicken bouillion, & turmeric during the simmer stage. It made the recipe taste even better!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
34 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Nicole
Reviewed: Aug. 26, 2005
this is REALLY good. I chopped the thighs into small pieces and seasoned them first w/ paprika, garlic, soul seasoning, & pepper. made according to directions. 5 min before finishing I added 1.5 Tablespoons of flour to 1 cup sour cream and added it to the sauce. OH, it's sooo good!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
22 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Nicole

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Fredericksburg, Virginia, USA
Reviewed: Dec. 2, 2005
My husband and I love this recipe! It's one of his all-time favorites. I do, however, try to use a VERY large onion and we still don't get quite enough sauce for our taste.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
14 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 4, 2007
I found this recipe while looking for someway to cook thighs. At first I thought it was way to simple to be good, but I had all the ingredients, so I gave it a shot. It is delicious, and a huge hit, even with my 2 very picky children (5 & 13). Couple of tips: season the chicken with salt, pepper and a little paprika before you saute, use a very large onion (my favorite part of this recipe is the sauce), and use chicken stock instead of the water. Serve it over rice with some extra sauce...yum! I've tried doubling the sauce recipe and it doesn't come out as good. So I've started doubling the entire recipe using 2 pans, boneless breasts in one and thighs in the other. (I start the thighs first since they take longer to cook.) Great recipe...simple but delicious!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
12 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 22, 2008
A Keeper for sure. I made this last night and my extremely picky teenager had seconds! After reading other comments, I too added more spices, course ground sea salt, course pepper, paprika, garlic powder, basil, and sauted the onions just alittle longer than 5 minutes. I also used chicken stock instead of water. This ends up being a very juicy, sweet chicken dish.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
11 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Birdsboro, Pennsylvania, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 1, 2004
Although I probably won't make this again (there are so many great chicken recipes to try) this was a nice dish. I added extra seasoning on the advice of previous reviewers and served with roasted potatoes and broccoli. I also carmelized the onions longer than the recipe called for. Instead of water I used homemade unsalted chicken broth. The sauce was very pleasant.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Playa Del Carmen, Quintana Roo, Mexico

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 4, 2012
This was very good, easy to make and low cost. My only changes were based on some of the other reviews. I used chicken breasts, cubed, as I did not have thighs. I seasoned them with Mortons Seasoning Salt, paprika and garlic powder. I used about three small onions and instead of 2 cups of water I used about a cup of white wine and a cup of water. This made a delicious sauce that required no additional thickening agents. I served my boyfriends to him over pasta and mine over some green beans, both tossed in the onion sauce. Very good, will be sure to keep this recipe on hand.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 26, 2004
I like that this dish has so few ingredients, but I found it to be kind of blah. It reminded me of chicken n dumplings or chicken soup... I don't know why I expected it to taste differently!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 7, 2003
My husband loved this dish over rice! I added some oregano, rosemary, and parsley. You really need a large onion in order to have enough gravy.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 42) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

 Quick & Easy Grilling
Quick & Easy Grilling

Easy weeknight dinners, ready in a flash.

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Pollo Fajitas

See how to make simple chicken fajitas with a zesty marinade.

How to Make Caramel Chicken

Try Chef John’s version of a wildly popular Vietnamese dish.

Braised Chicken and Artichokes

See how to make an easy and flavorful braised chicken dish.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States