Pollo Bianco Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Apr. 14, 2014
Pretty good!! I just finished cleaning up the mess i made making this and more for dinner. I didn't follow this recipe to the T but it was my base for perfection. I had 8 chicken thighs but only put 2 cups of chicken broth (instead of water). I found it was a good amount of sauce i'd say. I first seasoned the chicken with a Caribbean steak sauce to give it some spice, as well as garlic powder, salt and pepper. To cook the chicken I used Coconut oil instead of olive oil. I used a very large onion and a tray of pre-sliced mushrooms. cooked it all together on high-medium for about 30 minutes to really get the onions really moist and let some of the water evaporate. when i was almost done i added about a tablespoon of butter to give it a smooth taste. I served it with mashed sweet potatoes (really good with the liquid from the sauce!!) and steamed spinach with fresh garlic. Overall it was really good. I made enough for leftovers too!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 6, 2014
This recipe was so simple, I don't know why I never thought about it for myself! I love the idea of simmering the chicken in water, because it keeps the meat moist. I added scallions and mushrooms to mine when they were almost done. I think I will use chicken broth instead of water the next time I make this, to kind of give it a richer flavor.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 15, 2013
Wow!!! Talk about good! I made this in my RV, mostly because I was craving chicken thighs and didn't want to have to buy a lot of stuff. This fit the bill. I used lo-so chicken broth rather than water. And it was still a bit salty so I would suggest being careful with salting the meat in the beginning. Next time, I'll make sure to really brown the onions well at the start as they don't get any browner later on. If you don't want it to "watery", just keep cooking it, to boil down the liquid 'til you get to the consistency you want. I served this with crusty bread and that was PERFECT to soak up that wonderful liquid. Wouldn't serve this without crusty bread down the road. This is one of the best things I've ever made in the RV!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Calumet, Michigan, USA
Living In: Port Orchard, Washington, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 19, 2013
I followed the recipe exactly, however, it took about an hour for the water to evaporate and the sauce to thicken, and it was still to watery. It ended up being more of a broth than actual sauce. Perhaps it was because the sauce was watery and did no justice to the chicken but the flavor was only decent.I'm truly sorry but it was not delicious and it's something I would not do again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by ~*CountryGirlGourmet*~
Reviewed: May 27, 2013
This was ok nothing extra special. I will be moving soon and was looking for ways to use the chicken thighs in my deep freezer. I made the recipe as stated. There were enough onions for my husband and myself but thankfully my kids are picky eaters so we didn't need more of the sauce. If I were to make this for others I would increase the onions and add in some more seasonings like garlic.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by ~*CountryGirlGourmet*~

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Raeford, North Carolina, USA
Reviewed: Jan. 15, 2013
Just made this dish it's really good I did end up using more spices just like others posted garlic salt and poultry seasoning instead of water I used chicken stalk but the 2cups was a little to much but it worked! I poured the sauce all over our roasted potatoes and veggies ;) I also carmalized the onion with a spoon full of minced garlic yummy...
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 19, 2012
I had my doubts something so simple could be so good!!! Took another reviewers advice about roasted potatoes! Great dinner!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Home Town: Minneapolis, Minnesota, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 28, 2012
No flavor. I even added, salt, pepper, onion powder, garlic powder and paprika to the chicken before browning. The only posative thing about this dish is that it was moist. My husband thought that it would be great for tacos, because you add so much other stuff to it that you will not notice the lack of flavor. I don't think i will make this again. If I do it will be for tacos!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Greenwood, California, USA
Living In: Roseville, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 4, 2012
This was very good, easy to make and low cost. My only changes were based on some of the other reviews. I used chicken breasts, cubed, as I did not have thighs. I seasoned them with Mortons Seasoning Salt, paprika and garlic powder. I used about three small onions and instead of 2 cups of water I used about a cup of white wine and a cup of water. This made a delicious sauce that required no additional thickening agents. I served my boyfriends to him over pasta and mine over some green beans, both tossed in the onion sauce. Very good, will be sure to keep this recipe on hand.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 5, 2011
Used chicken stock, extra black pepper and doubled the onions. Delicious...
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Augusta, Georgia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 41) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Healthy and Delicious
Healthy and Delicious

New for spring! Good-for-you food you’ll love to eat.

Fresh Spring Recipes
Fresh Spring Recipes

The best ways to enjoy what’s in season right now.

Subscribe Today!
Subscribe Today!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $9.99!

Related Videos

Pollo Fajitas

See how to make simple chicken fajitas with a zesty marinade.

How to Make Caramel Chicken

Try Chef John’s version of a wildly popular Vietnamese dish.

Braised Chicken and Artichokes

See how to make an easy and flavorful braised chicken dish.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States