Pollo Bianco Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 3)
Reviewed: Jun. 3, 2010
Like other posters, go skinless. This could easily also be done with breasts or other chicken parts. Changes I'll make next time: use chicken broth instead of water. When the chicken was done, I added some corn starch to thicken the sauce and I should have let it cook and thicken just a bit more as it was pretty runny. I did pair it up with roasted potatoes and carrots and drizzled the sauce on it as well. Oh, and for my taste, it needs a decent amount of salt and pepper. And when I heated the olive oil I added a generous tablespoon of diced garlic.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 16, 2010
This is so very tasty. The day it first posted, I saw Emeril L. create a recipe very similar on TV. I tried it that night and the family LOVED it!! I was hesitant about buying/eating thighs because we are so used to breasts, but the thighs definitely lent a very special scrumptious taste to this super easy dish. I did add a few spices - garlic pepper/salt, and added extra water because we really enjoyed the sauce. A winner.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by MISSTARALYN

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Selden, New York, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 9, 2010
delicious, easy to make.. added more spices as suggested by other viewers and carmelized the onions for a little longer... great, easy meal.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 9, 2009
Probably good IF you add a lot of seasoning - pepper, garlic powder, paprika, Lawry's. Chicken came out dry but this was so easy that I can't really complain too much. Made with Yukon Gold potatoes, scrubbed (skins on) quartered, tossed with olive oil, garlic powder, a little paprika, and Lawry's.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Chicago, Illinois, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 16, 2009
This recipe is so simple, requires few ingredients and is absolutely delicious...so much flavor!! I carmelized my onions until nice and golden brown and used chicken stock instead of water for added flavor. I served it with brown rice and a vegetable. Yummy! I will definitely make it again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 1, 2009
Turned out incredible. I was worried it would be like a boiled chicken soup-like thing, but the onions caramalized well. Remember - don't simmer on low - I didn't read the recipe right at first. I simmered on medium high, stirring regularly. Yum.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful
Reviewed: Apr. 15, 2008
I was unsure how this would turn out since the recipe is so simple. I tried it out last night and it was awesome! I also seasoned the chicken with garlic and salt before browning. I didn't have chicken stock so I threw a chicken buillon while it was simmering and served over rice. Very tasty.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Jennifer

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Houston, Texas, USA
Living In: Dallas, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 22, 2008
A Keeper for sure. I made this last night and my extremely picky teenager had seconds! After reading other comments, I too added more spices, course ground sea salt, course pepper, paprika, garlic powder, basil, and sauted the onions just alittle longer than 5 minutes. I also used chicken stock instead of water. This ends up being a very juicy, sweet chicken dish.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
11 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Birdsboro, Pennsylvania, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 23, 2007
i used chicken stock in place of the water. Great taste and will most likely make again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 4, 2007
I found this recipe while looking for someway to cook thighs. At first I thought it was way to simple to be good, but I had all the ingredients, so I gave it a shot. It is delicious, and a huge hit, even with my 2 very picky children (5 & 13). Couple of tips: season the chicken with salt, pepper and a little paprika before you saute, use a very large onion (my favorite part of this recipe is the sauce), and use chicken stock instead of the water. Serve it over rice with some extra sauce...yum! I've tried doubling the sauce recipe and it doesn't come out as good. So I've started doubling the entire recipe using 2 pans, boneless breasts in one and thighs in the other. (I start the thighs first since they take longer to cook.) Great recipe...simple but delicious!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
13 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 21-30 (of 42) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Guilt-Free Munchies
Guilt-Free Munchies

Get healthier takes on your favorite between-meal snacks.

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Pollo Fajitas

See how to make simple chicken fajitas with a zesty marinade.

How to Make Caramel Chicken

Try Chef John’s version of a wildly popular Vietnamese dish.

Braised Chicken and Artichokes

See how to make an easy and flavorful braised chicken dish.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States