Pollo Bella Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Aug. 23, 2014
I didn't add the walnuts, I added grilled chicken and grilled red pepper along with some white wine, used half gorgonzola and half feta, it was a hit!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Trumbull, Connecticut, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 4, 2011
I wanted something different for my lunch and I had precooked chicken in the freezer. This recipe came up in my search. I basically halved the recipe. I sauteed about half a sweet onion, diced, in some bacon grease before adding the garlic and one small can of mushroom pieces. I then added the precooked chicken and the fat free half-and-half and let it reduce while the penne was cooking. Then I added the Gorgonzola cheese and just a handful of walnut pieces which I didn't bother toasting. I also added some red pepper flakes and some garlic salt for seasoning. I just ladeled the sauce over the cooked pasta rather than combining. This was good and filling. The color is rather bland and grey which isn't appealing but I'm not sure what can be done about that.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by It's A New Day

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Purcellville, Virginia, USA
Living In: Winchester, Virginia, USA
Reviewed: Oct. 18, 2009
Good dish...I knew that I had pasta, chicken, and gorgonzola on hand so this recipe saved me a trip to the grocery store! I added white wine, italian seasoning, sundried tomatoes and kept the chicken in the pot.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Shawnee, Kansas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 31, 2009
Very good! lots of flavor! I did 1/2 the amount of chicken and it was plenty. I can see how some fresh parsley may add color to this monochrome dish, though. I'd definitely make this again. served with bruschetta and a kale dish.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Jen Pahl

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Harvard, Illinois, USA
Living In: Milwaukee, Wisconsin, USA
Reviewed: Jun. 17, 2009
My boyfriend hated it, my mom didn't care for it, and I thought it was OK. It was way to dry, not enough sauce and missing alot of flavor. I would add a can of diced tomatos, double the garlic and add a cup of white wine along with the half and half and boil. Needs more flavor.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Christiana

Cooking Level: Beginning

Home Town: Fairfield, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 20, 2009
Alright added more seasoning to chicken.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 8, 2008
After reading the recipe I made a few changes. First, I fried a couple pieces of bacon then removed them and sauted some onion in the fat....this add more flavor. Cut back on the cheese and added some nice white wine at the end. As for the pasta...try adding a tsp of dried Italian seaoning to the water when it is boiling. IT'S Great!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Cincinnati, Ohio, USA
Living In: Morehead, Kentucky, USA
Reviewed: Aug. 19, 2007
I would rate this 5 STARS but my husband did not like it so I'm giving it 4 stars. I LOVED THE FLAVOR and I am a fan of creamy/saucy dishes, and I am a huge Gorgonzola fan! I DID LOVE THIS! I think this is a love it or hate it recipe. I SUGGEST READING the ingredients and if you LOVE GORGONZOLA. mushrooms, cream sauces, etc... you'll love it, if not, this isn't for you. Thank you for the great recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
11 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by 4everLuuvd

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Twentynine Palms, California, USA
Living In: Mesa, Arizona, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 14, 2007
I love this dish. The gorgonzola adds such a good flavor.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 13, 2006
This recipe was okay...not the greatest. I used crimini mushrooms which were very flavorable. My husband and I both thought the gorgonzola taste was too strong, and we love gorgonzola. I make another recipe with bowtie pasta, shallots and lemon zest. Next time I might try combining the two recipes and adding less gorgonzola.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 30) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Christmas Dinner
Christmas Dinner

Magnificent main dishes for your holiday table are here, from roast beef to a Christmas goose.

Christmas Appetizers
Christmas Appetizers

Dozens and dozens of appetizers perfect for the winter season.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Pollo Fajitas

See how to make simple chicken fajitas with a zesty marinade.

Easy Chicken Tetrazzini

See how to make an easy baked chicken tetrazzini.

Linguine with Chicken and Vegetables

What's cooking in Ellington? This creamy, satisfying linguine.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States