Polka Dots Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Feb. 21, 2014
I made these when DD needed cookies for a church retreat, and they were easy, quick, and delicious! I followed the advice of other reviewers, mixing the eggs and oil together before adding to the batter. I used a Ghiradelli mix with chocolate chips already in it, and [er directions, I added a cup of white chocolate chips. I baked on parchment paper for 10 mins. at 350, let them rest 1 minute after I took them out of the oven, and they cooled on a rack over my sink (so any crumbs would be easy clean-up). To anyone using a plain cake mix, add 1 Tbsp each of butter extract and vanilla extract, and the flavor improves greatly.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Johanna WISHES she were a

Cooking Level: Expert

Reviewed: Jul. 22, 2012
I've made this recipe several times and each time my boyfriend's coworkers beg for more. I substituted the white chocolate chips for regular milk chocolate chips because we aren't fans of white chocolate and they were divine. Soft, chewy with a slightly crunchy edge. So chocolatey!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by user

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Bristol, Pennsylvania, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 12, 2011
Excellent! After reading a lot of the reviews, I followed the recipe precisely, using tips from reviews such as mixing eggs and oil first, and making certain that cookies cooled for at least one minute before removing from cookie sheet. We always use silicone mats on our cookie sheets so that MAY have made the cookies lift off easier but honestly the only time one didn't release was because I took that batch from the oven too soon and it was completely raw in the middle! I did have trouble getting the white chocolate chips to stay in the dough but that might have been due to using frozen chips. (didn't want to wait for them to come to room temp) I made some chewy and some crispy and am enjoying both as I type this review.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 2, 2011
I couldn't rate these a five because I don't like white chocolate and therefore didn't make this recipe as written, but I chopped up York Peppermint Patties instead and got rave reviews on these. I would definitely use parchment paper for these and err on the side of caution with the time. I also noticed that these spread differently depending on which brand of brownie mix you use. When I used Duncan Hines mix they spread really flat and crispy and only needed 8 minutes to bake. Pillsbury brownie mix resulted in a puffier cookie that needed about 9 minutes to bake and came off the cookie sheet easier....another reason I couldn't quite rate these a 5, the recipe is not consistent. Not a fault of the poster, just a matter of fact based on my making them two times with different brands of product.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Columbus, Ohio, USA
Living In: Delaware, Ohio, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 9, 2011
These were very easy to make. I followed another person's suggestion and whisked together the eggs and oil before adding the brownie mix. Then folded in the white chocolate chips. I baked for about 9 minutes. These cookies did not flatten out, which was great. They tasted good, too.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 10, 2011
I made these with a brownie mix and peanut butter chips. YUM! I baked for 10 min. and did grease my pan. They did stick a little when I removed from pan (after cooling a couple of min) but no big problem. Will definitely make these again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 28, 2011
Quick and easy! Both times I used Reese's Pieces instead of choc chips. Just like eating a little brownie. I also rolled them into balls the second time to make sure they had a chewie center.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 20, 2011
Yumm-o! These were super easy and dare I say, better than making them from scratch. I mixed the dough with peanut butter chips and refrigerated for a couple hours. I used a small cookie scoop, baked 12 minutes and cooled 5 minutes on the pan (which was lined with parchment paper.) It needed the full 12 minutes because the dough was cold and the scoop made a thick cookie. Perfect!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 17, 2011
Delicious and easy! A great way to make brownies less messy so you can bring them places/share! I made mine with milk chocolate chips instead of white (because that's what I had on hand) and they were great!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 16, 2011
These are the best cookies!!! i'm totally addicted to them. they are super easy and fun to make. the recipe said that it would make 18 cookies, the first time we came up with almost 30 and the second about 24. in any case they are awesome!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Home Town: San Jose, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 41) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Speedy Weeknight Meals
Speedy Weeknight Meals

We’ll help you get dinner on the table in no time flat.

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Robbi’s M&M Cookies

This old-fashioned favorite is crispy and chewy with a candy-coated surprise.

Cinnamon Chocolate Chip Cookies

See how to make chocolate chip cookies with some cinnamon snap.

Thin Mint Crackers

These delicious chocolate-covered crackers are so easy to make.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States