Polish Sweet Bread Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Apr. 22, 2013
DELICIOUS!! Almost like a hawaiian sweet bread. Everyone loved this bread! It was gone by the end of the night. I did it in my breadmaker under sweet bread setting. I will make this again for sure!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by American

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Reviewed: Feb. 19, 2013
One of my new favorite recipes. :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by pokey
Reviewed: Jun. 25, 2012
This bread is AWESOME. I changed the topping, though; instead of doing the crumbly topping that the recipe says, I made a honey and egg mixture and brushed it onto the top before baking. You still get the sweetness that you'd get from the crumble topping, but without as much of a mess.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 5, 2012
This recipe brought back wonderful memories from my childhood, but it was 1000 times easier than the way my mother makes it by hand. I love my bread machine. I made the recipe in the bread machine then used it to make braided breads instead of using loaf pans. I topped it with green colored coconut and jelly beans over an orange juice flavored confectioners sugar glaze. Beautiful and delicious. I also cut it into thin 6 inch strips and twisted into bunnies, in the shape of an upside down memory ribbon twist, and put a small round ball of dough to make a tail in the twist junction. I also frosted those in the orange frosting nad dipped the bottom in green coconut so it looks like a bunny sitting in grass. Happy Easter!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 13, 2011
Alright people if you don't have a bread machine PROOF the yeast first my recommendation is taking a half cup of that milk(before scolding it), warming it up some how...add the yeast, and in addition to what the recipe calls for add a tablespoon of sugar..Let sit for about ten minutes and there yah go!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 21, 2011
To the person who said they used the oven instead of the machine: thanks! My mother and I have been using my great great Babka's recipe for years. It's still handwritten. I just joined and will be posting it. Thanks to Verla for having at least one version of it! I can now make it at home til I sneak the recipe from my mom! It is delicious, but you really do need it to be made in the oven. A bread machine does not do this justice. Make sure to add walnuts to your mixture and use REAL butter. The milk should be at room temp, as should your eggs. It will give the bread an amazing quality! I promise! From one Polish fam to others!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
11 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 24, 2010
This recipe turned out really well. I don't have a bread machine so I had to guess some about the yeast, but it worked out well.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 26, 2010
This was a wonderful bread just what I was looking for. Followed the recipe and it came out perfect. I think it was even better the next day.. Made two loaves and I froze one and when I thawed it it was just a good as the fresh. Thanks for the recipe!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 6, 2010
Our family roll recipe from here on out! I have a bread machine, but it's packed up, so I mixed the order up ... the yeast needs sugar to proof so I put it in with the milk, butter, sugar. After it dissolved, I added vanilla and sea salt then the flour. I had no problem getting it to rise every step. 20 minutes in the oven... like butter! Yummy! Thank you! If you don't agree you're dong it wrong.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Cathy K.

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 19, 2009
This is so easy . Ive made this many times . You will love it .
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Mesa, Arizona, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 17) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

 Quick & Easy Grilling
Quick & Easy Grilling

Easy weeknight dinners, ready in a flash.

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Sweet Corn Bread

See how to make moist, slightly sweet corn bread.

Karen's Sweet Corn Bread

See how to make simple corn bread with a touch of sweetness.

Alison's Gluten Free Bread

Tastes and looks just like wheat bread!

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States