Polish Style Lasagna Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 6)
Reviewed: Jan. 13, 2009
This was wonderful. I used cheddar and sour cream flavored mashed potatoes with a splash of milk to make them creamier and easier to spread. I also added a pound of sausage to make it a meal in one for my carnivourous husband. Also being that it's only the two of us I made this in a 8X8 and only ended up using 3 lasagna noodles. This recipe is definitely a keeper. Thanks!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by jennkl

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Howell, Michigan, USA
Reviewed: Dec. 30, 2008
WOW!!!! this dish tasted like a pierogi in a casserole. I was worried about some of the reviews being bland, but all turned out well. I did use real mashed potatoes and added milk to make them spreadable. I also added an egg to bind the potatoes, I was worried about not setting up well from the extra milk. that worked out well, too. I also followed other reviews about top layer being crunchy, so I followed suggestions to add top layer of potato. I wish I would have added 2nd onion. I can't wait to make this again when I can get to the polish meat market and pick up some sausage. I will probably be trying a lot of different variations, as they seem to be infinite!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by pnutmommy

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Three Rivers, Michigan, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 26, 2008
This is one of the best recipes I've tried on this site. I did use my own mashed potatoes instead of the flakes, but I never would have dreamed this one up on my own. Five Stars, Excellent!:)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 21, 2008
Use this recipe as a base and add what you feel is best for your pierogi style. With modifications it's a 5 star. I add fried onions to the potato mixture together with some cheddar and other cheeses, (i.e. parmesan, mozzarella, etc.) Without these cheeses it is not as good and does not taste like the potato and cheese pierogi most people eat. Feel free to add sauerkraut or fried cabbage as a layer. I make this each year for Christmas eve for my Polish family together with Fried Cabbage with fried onions & a bit of sugar, and Polish Pound Cake.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Elkland, Pennsylvania, USA
Living In: Osceola, Pennsylvania, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 19, 2008
This was a very tasty dish. A giant perogie! I love how creamy and smooth the cream cheese made the potatoes. Two things I might do next time is 1) double the amount of potatoes...was hard spreading it evenly with such a little amount, and 2) I love the crunchy onion topping, next time I might put that on top of each layer
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by add_chase

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Long Island, New York, USA
Living In: Elmira, New York, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 23, 2008
BLAND.. I love Mashed Potatoes, I love sauteed onions, I even like lasagna noodles. but this recipe was VERY BLAND. definitely needed a lot of something.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Milton, Florida, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 6, 2008
Growing up in a huge polish community I was used to eating homemade perogies a lot. Now that I moved away, I don't get them that often. This is a good substitute for them that takes a fraction of the time to make. It's really good. Make sure to have sour cream on hand.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Melissa

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Burbank, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 21, 2008
This was interesting. The overall flavor was good, but there was way too much floating grease from all that butter in the onions, definitely cut that way back. We loaded this up w/ pepper as we felt it was lacking in spice. We would make this again in a smaller quantity and use as an accompaniment to a grilled piece of chicken or beef.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by MRSKWRIGHT

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Boring, Oregon, USA
Living In: Bend, Oregon, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 4, 2008
Admittedly, I didn't follow the recipe. I thought it looked kind of plain, so I made my own mashed potatoes, caramelized some onions, and stuffed some manicotti with it. It wasn't very good as main dish that way because that's just WAY too much mashed potato for one sitting, so next time I will stuff jumbo shells instead to make more manageable portions and serve it as a side dish.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Battle Creek, Michigan, USA
Living In: Lansing, Michigan, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 21, 2008
This was a hit at my house! We love pierogies, but can seldom find them in the store. I misread the recipe, and added the sauteed onions TO the potatoes, which turned out just fine. I topped it a very thin layer of jarred alfredo sauce (just so it wouldn't dry out - you couldn't even taste it, but kept it moist) and lots of shredded cheese. I also added a layer of sliced, smoked sausage to the bottom layer of the casserole, but it would have been just as good without it. Great!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by gracietwin

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 51-60 (of 154) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Best Thanksgiving Recipes
Best Thanksgiving Recipes

From the bird to the sides to the cranberry sauce and the pie, it's all here for you.

Top Turkey
Top Turkey

Choose from dozens of top-rated roast turkey recipes, from stuffed to deep-fried.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Grandma's Polish Perogies

See how to make traditional potato and cheese-filled perogies.

Butternut Squash Lasagna

Pair this rich, easy lasagna with a crunchy kale salad.

Spinach Lasagna III

This hearty meatless lasagna is layered with cheese, fresh spinach, and sauce.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States