Polish Style Lasagna Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 5)
Reviewed: Jun. 28, 2009
Family enjoyed very much. We added more salt and pepper.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 30, 2009
This was ok. It's a lot of work for what tastes like a "twice baked potato" type casserole. I used mashed (skins on) baby new potatoes instead of the instant potatoes. I sauteed the onions in butter with garlic. I also added 1 cup sour cream, milk, salt, and pepper to the potatoes. I layered in some sharp cheddar cheese as well. It did taste similar to peirogies.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by sarah

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Chaska, Minnesota, USA
Living In: Prior Lake, Minnesota, USA
Reviewed: Apr. 23, 2009
This recipe is awesome. I found because their aren't a lot of ingredients, you can mess around with it. I ended up adding 2 pounds of ground beef with some bacon. I also used the suggestion of mixing the cream cheese before adding in the potatoes, and it made everything much easier when it came to mixing. It is a very hearty dish. I made it for my fiance and myself and reduced the recipe to 4 servings and we still had tons of left overs for the other room mates. This is definately a recipe I will be using again. :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Rosie Red

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 16, 2009
this recipe was awesome! i followed most of the recipe using the cream cheese in the mash patatos. i did grill an onion and mix it with the patatos and on each layer of patato i sprinkled sharp cheddar cheese. i then put more grilled onions on the top and put the rest of the chedar cheese. the flavor was great, like a hug on a plate! thanks so much for the recipe
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by shannon

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Kaneohe, Hawaii, USA
Living In: Palmdale, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 29, 2009
great meal needs a layer on the top
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by andyslair6969

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 28, 2009
This is the first time I've tried a recipe from this site and everyone at my house liked it. I made the mashed potatoes, added a little bit of the flavored instant potatoes, 8 oz. of sour cream, a pound of crumbled bacon, cheddar cheese, and then a little of the cheese over the onions. I also did a thin layer of the potatoes before the onion topping. Thanks for the great idea-I'll be making it again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 4, 2009
I love this as a (make ahead!) side dish. I add the cream cheese before I add the potato flakes, because it incorporates easier in the hot water. As for consistency of your mashed potatoes, I'd say err on the creamier side (add more water or milk) as opposed to stiff, but keep in mind the buttery onions on top add a bit of moisture as well. I also like to grill portabella mushrooms as an additional topping to the grilled onions.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 26, 2009
I was so excited to make this dish... but was very disappointed in the out come. The dish was not a total flop, but it just did not jump out at me to make me want to make it again. Sorry.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Petersburg, Pennsylvania, USA
Living In: Huntingdon, Pennsylvania, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 14, 2009
This is ok, tastes like a perogie. I have only made it once, it makes tons, and there is only my husband, my 15 month old and myself.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by JESSICA

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Chicago, Illinois, USA
Reviewed: Jan. 13, 2009
This was wonderful. I used cheddar and sour cream flavored mashed potatoes with a splash of milk to make them creamier and easier to spread. I also added a pound of sausage to make it a meal in one for my carnivourous husband. Also being that it's only the two of us I made this in a 8X8 and only ended up using 3 lasagna noodles. This recipe is definitely a keeper. Thanks!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by jennkl

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Howell, Michigan, USA

Displaying results 41-50 (of 153) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Guilt-Free Munchies
Guilt-Free Munchies

Get healthier takes on your favorite between-meal snacks.

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Spinach Lasagna III

This hearty meatless lasagna is layered with cheese, fresh spinach, and sauce.

Grandma's Polish Perogies

See how to make traditional potato and cheese-filled perogies.

Chef John’s Lasagna

Discover the two keys to a great lasagna.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States