Polish Style Lasagna Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 4)
Reviewed: Jan. 8, 2010
My husband loved this...added a twist, some chopped up italian sausage...great meal!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Christina

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Fraser, Michigan, USA
Reviewed: Jan. 1, 2010
I made this for New Year's Eve dinner for company and people raved and raved. It was ALL gone. I made a few changes and additions though...I used wholemeal lasagna, used low fat cream cheese and added a half cup of low fat cottage cheese to the mashed potatoes as well. I fried up 2 onions, 2 cups of sauerkraut (rinsed and drained) and 10 rashers (slices) of bacon and then layered that on top of the mashed potatoes. It was divine! My husband who is of very strong Polish heritage loved it... YUM I will make this one again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Miriam Hughes

Cooking Level: Expert

Reviewed: Dec. 7, 2009
A little too rich for our taste. Tasted like a giant casserole of ultimate mashed potatoes.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by joyful1

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Ames, Iowa, USA
Living In: Zumbrota, Minnesota, USA
Reviewed: Oct. 24, 2009
This is kind of an unusual combo, but I like it. I added shredded cheddar to the potatoes as another reviewer suggested. I used real potatoes. I also used more onions for the topping as someone else suggested.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 24, 2009
I gave this two stars not because it didn't taste good, (it was okay)but the execution of this was poor in my opinion. Layering the potatoes between lasagna noodles did not add to this dish in any way. As well, putting the onions on the top noodles just didn't seem right to me, as some said, the top noodles just got hard and crunchy. The mashed potatoes were pretty dry too. It was definitely not a main dish, better off as a side dish. If I was to make this again (which I probably won't) I would have to include some sour cream to the mashed potatoes, proabably some bacon as well in the layering and mix the onion in with the potatoes instead of on top and I would also probably leave out the lasagna noodles, which pretty much completely changes this recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 15, 2009
I made this last week with just the bottom layer of lasagna noodles because of issues with my water supply. My SO and my 1 year old thought it was amazing. I used homemade mashed potatoes. Definitely a keeper.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Glenden Hess

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: South Haven, Michigan, USA
Living In: Midland, Michigan, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 10, 2009
my husband and i literally just got done eating this! it was really good, but the potato was insanely dry! i added more water, and it was still very hard to spread. because of the other reviews, i made more of the mashed potato to add an extra layer on top, which i followed with cheese. i also mixed in my saute(1 and 1/2 white onion, 2 green onion stalks, 1 celery stalk, minced garlic) in the with potato, as well as garlic salt(instead of regular salt), ground pepper, basil, parsley, and dill(loooove dill). instead of regular cream cheese, i used the chive and onion kind. if i make this again, i will definately add milk to the potatoes. they stuck to the roof of both of our mouths! i may add a layer of kraut, but my husband hates it. ill just have to sneak it in!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by kimcest

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Bamberg, Bayern, Germany

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 4, 2009
This was awesome!! Will definitely make again. Added layers of sauerkraut on top of potato layers. Added some bread crumbs to top layer with sauted onions.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Sheryl MacGibbon

Cooking Level: Beginning

Home Town: Hamilton, Ontario, Canada
Living In: Fort Erie, Ontario, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 15, 2009
My husband loved this recipe! With a few modifications it was a meal in itself. I added thin sliced kielbasa, sauteed sweet onion, sauteed red pepper and mozzarella to each layer. Yum! I'll make this again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by John P Cobb

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Madison, Wisconsin, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 5, 2009
This was a good base recipe. I added 12 oz of kielbasa sausage with the sweet onion I used while it was sauteeing. I will use another onion next time, this layer was very thin. I also added about 1/2 teaspoon sugar to the onion while it was sauteeing, which definitely helped it carmelize slightly. My final addition was mild cheddar cheese on the top.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 31-40 (of 154) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Top Dessert Recipes
Top Dessert Recipes

Rated, reviewed, and ready to satisfy your sweet cravings.

Best Party Recipes
Best Party Recipes

Essential eats, sips, and tips for your next gathering.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Grandma's Polish Perogies

See how to make traditional potato and cheese-filled perogies.

Butternut Squash Lasagna

Pair this rich, easy lasagna with a crunchy kale salad.

Spinach Lasagna III

This hearty meatless lasagna is layered with cheese, fresh spinach, and sauce.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States