Polish Style Lasagna Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 14)
Reviewed: Nov. 27, 2004
Great taste and easy to make. The potatos ended up a little dry on the edges, but all in all a good side dish.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 8, 2004
This recipe has potential. I added 1/2 pound bacon, crumbled, and about 1 cup shredded cheddar cheese to the potato mixture. My only complaint is that the top layer of noodles were too hard. A nice, quick replacement for perogies.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Glendale, Arizona, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 6, 2004
This recipe is DELICIOUS! I've made it 3 times and it turned out great everytime.It's a favorite with the grandchildren.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Wyandotte, Michigan, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 28, 2004
The flavor was definately there, but I added more butter and even when I did, it was too dry.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by JANIE56

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 19, 2004
Very Yummy! I made this according to the instructions except I used less butter to saute onions, used onion/chive flavored cream cheese and added garlic powder to the potatoes. and used chedder cheese between layers. I served it with fried saurkrout (sp) and keilbasa. Lasagna satisfied my pierogi cravings and was much cheaper than buying the frozen ones. boyfriend enjoyed this also.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 8, 2004
Pierogi's are a favorite of my husband and his family. We loved this recipe! It was much quicker to whip this together than to spend hours making dumplings. I had his mother try it and she was really impressed. I will definately make this again. Next time, for variety, I may add a little ground beef. And my husband would never dream of eating this without sour cream and crumbled bacon as a topper! Thanks for a great, quick substitute for the real thing.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 17, 2004
This was a really great recipe - everyone really enjoyed it! I added some real potatoes to the mix, mostly because I had them and needed to use them, but it worked well. My only change for next time is that I will cook the lasagna noodles longer...
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 25, 2004
Awesome meal!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 6, 2004
We added a bunch of garlic to the potatoes, as well as a BUNCH of cheese, and some sauerkrautto the layers. It was WAAAAY too gummy without adding milk as well as cream cheese to the potatoes. And we're VERY into onions, so I more than doubled the onions called for. I do definitely recommend saving potatoes (or making extra) to spread over the top layer to keep the noodles from crisping. But we were both impressed with how close it was to actual pierogies, and it will be made again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 26, 2003
This dish is perfect comfort food. I served it as the main dish at lunch and it was quite satisfying. The noodles make it more interesting than straight mashed potatoes and the sauteed onions add flavor. I reduced the butter by almost half, adding a little extra water and the potatoes were moist enough. My only complaint would be that the finished dish is very white and a little bland in appearance. It wouldn't be a very impressive dish to serve company without some type of garnish. Although I gave this recipe a 4 star rating, my husband said he would give it 5 stars for potential. He suggests adding peppers, chiles, sausage, cheddar cheese or anything else handy.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 131-140 (of 154) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Top Dessert Recipes
Top Dessert Recipes

Rated, reviewed, and ready to satisfy your sweet cravings.

Best Party Recipes
Best Party Recipes

Essential eats, sips, and tips for your next gathering.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Grandma's Polish Perogies

See how to make traditional potato and cheese-filled perogies.

Butternut Squash Lasagna

Pair this rich, easy lasagna with a crunchy kale salad.

Spinach Lasagna III

This hearty meatless lasagna is layered with cheese, fresh spinach, and sauce.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States