Polish Style Lasagna Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 13)
Reviewed: Sep. 9, 2005
This was yummy! I am munching on the leftovers right now! A few comments though. First of all - I think this is a great SIDE DISH. By itself and even served with vegetables on the side - It feels incomplete like you had potato and vegies but no meat....I DONT KNOW!!! But then - it is so rich that to add more you would really be full. I agree it needs something as others have said added right to it. I like it though and I am definitely going to experiment with it - and try other things. I will watch for suggestions. Next time - I will try the sausage and the chedder. I am not sure about the chedder because I like the cream cheese taste and don't want to distract from that - but I will give it some thought!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by MINALEWIS

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Salt Lake City, Utah, USA
Living In: South Jordan, Utah, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 25, 2005
This recipe is very rich and SO GOOD!!! I did add some sausage to it along with a bag of frozen mixed veggies. My husband LOVED it!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by MarthaWannabe

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Shiner, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 11, 2005
This dish was good. The only problem I had was the process of layering the potatoes. Since you omit the milk in making the potatoes, they end up very sticky and stiff. This makes spreading a little difficult. This is a good base recipe but would be excellent with crumbled bacon, sour cream, cheese, garlic or other things added to it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by MYKIDSMOM5

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Austin, Texas, USA
Living In: Morgan, Utah, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 7, 2005
Excellent as a side dish. When making any type of lasagna I always add an extra layer of noodles directly on top & throw them away afterwards. It keeps everything else moist. I served this with keilbasa & cabbage and everyone loved it. I plan to make this again for a non-polish meal and maybe add some cheddar cheese, bacon & chives. There's really a lot you can do with this dish.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Hazlet, New Jersey, USA
Living In: Atlantic Highlands, New Jersey, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 17, 2005
We enjoyed this meal, but I made it with plenty of additions so I'm not sure what the original recipe would have been rated. I made the mashed potatoes with baby reds - and left the skins on. Added green onions and garlic powder to them as well. Stuck shredded cheddar cheese between the layers, and topped it off with sausage. Served with sour cream, and once we tasted it, decided it needed a little bit more of something, so we just added Tony Chachere's (Cajun seasoning) for lack of any better ideas. After all that, yes, this meal is definitely a four!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 21, 2005
This was so good!!! My fiance and I had it with sour cream and it was just like perogis. I used garlic and herb potato flakes instead and made the mistake of using the no pre-cook lasagna noodles....a bit crunchy but that was my fault! Can't wait to get it right!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 14, 2005
This recipe was so easy to make and tasted just like pierogies to me! We loved it! It's heavy, but definitely super easy! Thank you for sharing this original recipe. I made it exactly as the directions instructed, with no modifications.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 28, 2005
this was the best cheesecake i ever made, thank you
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 4, 2004
I was excited about this recipe and was expecting a certain flavor out of these ingredients. The outcome was different that what I expected. It was not a bad dish, it was just not for me.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by MKUKIELA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 27, 2004
Great taste and easy to make. The potatos ended up a little dry on the edges, but all in all a good side dish.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 121-130 (of 153) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Want to Grill Tonight?
Want to Grill Tonight?

Check out time-saving recipes, because any night’s a good night to grill.

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Spinach Lasagna III

This hearty meatless lasagna is layered with cheese, fresh spinach, and sauce.

Grandma's Polish Perogies

See how to make traditional potato and cheese-filled perogies.

Chef John’s Lasagna

Discover the two keys to a great lasagna.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States