Polish Style Lasagna Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 9)
Reviewed: Mar. 11, 2008
As other reviewers did, we changed up the recipe and it was fabulous! We made real mashed potatoes, added a pound of bacon, 2 onions, add an extra layer of noodles on the top, it helps with the drying of the noodles. Thanks so much for a great start to a wonderful recipe. I'm polish and this is as close to making a Pierogi as it gets without all the work!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Stacy

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 11, 2008
My hubby said this was just great, I thought so also. Follow the recipe, except for using garlic mashed potatoes and added a 16 oz, can of kraut to the onions. Will enjoy the spin-offs that will come next. Ironically I was looking at the recipe and then my daughter mailed it to me and told me how delish!!!!...she was right.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 10, 2008
We made this recipe for dinner tonight. Tastes just like a pierogi! Very good. We served it as the main entree, but I think it would be better served as a side dish (needs some meat to go along with it). Again, very good recipe - added it to the "Tried it - Liked It" file.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Gizmo Gadgetron

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 9, 2008
This is real excellent!! My husband made quite a face when I told him this was for dinner...but he was more than happy with the results. I used Betty Crocker Roasted garlic & cheese instant mashed & mixed in the cream cheese & 1/2 cup sour cream. I layed the onions in between the noodles & potato mixture...and added an extra layer of potatoes then sliced mozz on the very top. After baking, I stuck it under the broiler for a few minutes to make the cheese bubbly & give it some color. I also sprinkled with some paprika...it doesn't look appetizing at all, but the taste is FABULOUS!!I will definitely make this one again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Toledo, Ohio, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 8, 2008
This was good, but a little bland. I always try to follow the recipe as written the first time so that my review is of the recipe, not my modifications. Next time, I will add more onion, some cabbage in with the fried onions... and layer it into the casserole instead of just on top. In fear of dryness noted by other reviewers, I prepared the mashed potatoes as per the box instructions, including adding the milk. NB: for those who like and use the "no boil" lasagna noodles... that's all I had, SO, BEFORE I started prepping anything else, I put the noodles into a heat-safe dish and poured VERY HOT water over them and let them sit for the entire time I was preparing the rest of the ingredients. I then used them like cooked noodles and it was perfect!! A little tweaking and this recipe will be REALLY good, but as a side dish, not a main course, which the name "lasagna" implies.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by sourdough girl

Cooking Level: Professional

Home Town: Eugene, Oregon, USA
Living In: Marysville, Washington, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 8, 2008
I made this last night and it turned out great. It tasted just like perogies. I did change the recipe a little from the advice of others. I did add a layer of fried white cabbage and a layer of the potato mixture on top. I also but some chedder and mozzarella cheese in it too. I made some kielbasa on the side from my husband and we both enjoyed the lasagna.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Willingboro, New Jersey, USA
Living In: Schweinfurt, Bayern, Germany

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 7, 2008
Yummy! Cooked up two onions for other layers and added a dash of sharp cheddar cheese. I did use the milk in the mashed potatoes, otherwise it would have been more difficult to spread. We will saute garlic with the onion next time. We will certainly make this again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by sparkysarah

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Worland, Wyoming, USA
Living In: Sheridan, Wyoming, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 6, 2008
I made it basically as written. Just used more onion some salt & pepper and dotted the top with more butter before baking. Great recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by EDOG

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: South River, New Jersey, USA
Living In: Cape Coral, Florida, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 6, 2008
Very good. A good choice for something different.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Gail

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Tampa, Florida, USA
Living In: Waynesville, North Carolina, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 6, 2008
Made this last night, with a few changes: increased the amount of onion and added about 1/3 head of shredded cabbage (sauteed with the onion), plus approx. 1/4 cup of caraway seeds. Yum. A big hit!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Trenton, New Jersey, USA
Living In: Sarasota, Florida, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 81-90 (of 154) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Christmas Dinner
Christmas Dinner

Magnificent main dishes for your holiday table are here, from roast beef to a Christmas goose.

Christmas Appetizers
Christmas Appetizers

Dozens and dozens of appetizers perfect for the winter season.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Grandma's Polish Perogies

See how to make traditional potato and cheese-filled perogies.

Butternut Squash Lasagna

Pair this rich, easy lasagna with a crunchy kale salad.

Spinach Lasagna III

This hearty meatless lasagna is layered with cheese, fresh spinach, and sauce.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States