Polish Style Lasagna Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 10)
Reviewed: Mar. 5, 2008
we enjoyed this recipe. very easy to make, and sure is cheaper than buying frozen pierogis. i did use yukon gold potatoes though, we don't really care for instant. i also used 2 large sweet onions. i made a huge pan of this so we had some leftovers for the next meal.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 4, 2008
This was soooooo good!!!! I did tweak it a little. I put salt, pepper, garlic powder, chedder and mozzerella cheese in the mashed potatoes. I also added a little extra water, as some had said the middle was dry. I used some turkey bacon and sauted the onions in the same pan after. I used olive oil and butter for the onions. I did use lite cream cheese. I'm not sure how many calories were saved..hehehe... I put the onions and 1/2 the bacon in the middle and used the rest of the bacon on top. Of course I topped it off with more cheddar and mozzerella. DELICIOUS!!!!! my famliy loved it. I served it with a green salad, nothing else was needed. This one is a keeper...
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Falls Church, Virginia, USA
Living In: Manassas, Virginia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 4, 2008
This is so easy and so good. We, too, used to call this "lazy pierogies". Add some cabbage to the onions and you got "lazy haluski". Maybe you have to be Polish or grow up in the Coal Region (think BLOCK PARTIES!!!) to appreciate this, but it IS worth trying.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 4, 2008
Loved it. I made this exactly as described and the kids liked it as well. The fat content is a bit too high for me. Getting older and can't tolerate it as much. So I will make this again, just not that often, or cut down on the butter and cream cheese. Thank you for a great recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Roanoke, Virginia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 4, 2008
I would make this again. I wanted to try the recipe as soon as I received it. I was a little short on the cream cheese so I added cheese whiz which my grand son just loved.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by dorey
Living In: Goulds, Newfoundland, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 4, 2008
Absolutely delish! I added sharp cheddar, American cheese, and sweet onions as suggested by other reviewers. I also used real potatoes because I like them so much better than potato flakes. I will definetly make this again. Thanks for such a yummy recipe!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Boise, Idaho, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 4, 2008
This was a big hit. I used about half the butter recommended and it was still very tasty and rich. My kids love pierogies, and this is a great alternative.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Mundelein, Illinois, USA
Living In: Westfield, Indiana, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 3, 2008
OH SOOOO GOOD!! My husband and daughters (6 and 3) couldn't get enough. I did add real bacon and grated cheese as suggested, and I also served it with sour cream, and it really was fantastic. Now I can't say I'll be making it too often, only because it's not exactly "low fat", but as a special supper now and again, ABSOLUTELY!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Jewel Lee

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 3, 2008
I took a bit of everyones advice and this turned out excellent. I made the potatoes including the milk. Layered as original. Used three medium onions sauted and a 1/2# bacon of bacon crumbled for the topping. Served with Kielbaska and corn. Great comfort food
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Batavia, Illinois, USA
Living In: Rock Falls, Illinois, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 3, 2008
Very unique and the possibities are endless using different ingredients you like better for the layering. Try this, you won't be disappointed.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by ruthey

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Lansing, Michigan, USA
Living In: Palm Springs, California, USA

Displaying results 91-100 (of 153) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Food on Fire
Food on Fire

Find out what to cook for your next BBQ.

Healthier Lunches for Kids
Healthier Lunches for Kids

Send them to school with good-for-you food that’s tasty, too.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Spinach Lasagna III

This hearty meatless lasagna is layered with cheese, fresh spinach, and sauce.

Grandma's Polish Perogies

See how to make traditional potato and cheese-filled perogies.

Chef John’s Lasagna

Discover the two keys to a great lasagna.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States