Polish Sourdough Rye Bread Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Feb. 5, 2008
This recipe is great; use 4 cups of white flour not 8 cups; if someone actually did this, not much wonder it was dry; to make it more authentic double up on the caraway.....very nice!!!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
32 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Peterborough, Ontario, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 19, 2011
Very nice. If you don't have good sourdough starter, but can't wait to try this recipe, substitute a pint of sour cream plus one extra TBS (one packet) of yeast.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Professional

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 25, 2001
I found this bread was quite easy to prepare, fantastically fragrant with a wonderful taste. Gorgeous with lashings of butter and plum powidel...yum
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
20 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 18, 2009
This is so easy to make !!!!! Ive made this many times ,continues to be our favorite .
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Mesa, Arizona, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 27, 2001
I just started making bread & this was my first attempt at rye bread. I have to say this is a fairly easy recipe. The bread has a nice texture & it tastes good too. This recipe did make 2 9x5 loaves instead of 3.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
38 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by ErichKD
Reviewed: Mar. 23, 2011
The dough was as dry as the Sahara dessert, needed 2 more cup water and used only 6 cups bread flour, taste is great, mad 2 loves in 11x5 pan
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Professional

Home Town: Leesburg, Florida, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 25, 2011
It work out wonderful. I used my sour dough starter (made from rye flour) followed the "formula" starting with only 4 cups of bread flour and it was spot on! banged out 6 rounds today.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Professional

Home Town: Manchester, Connecticut, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 9, 2014
Obviously the recipe is incorrect, but that said, with a few minor adjustments (more salt, more caraway, less flour), it makes a good loaf of rye. The overnight sponge needs to be wet - like thick batter wet, so make sure you add enough water. If you wind up with extra dough in the end, who cares? Make a roll. As it states, add flour until the dough pulls away from the sides of the mixing bowl and isn't too sticky to knead with your hands. Keep adding flour as you knead, just a handful at a time, until you get the tacky consistency you're looking for. Form a loaf, let it rise and bake as directed. Just for fun, I baked mine in the Pyrex mixing bowl. It made a flying rye saucer! If you like your crust chewy, brush the top with a little water after baking and removing from the baking dish.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by jimpres
Reviewed: Mar. 8, 2010
Recipe has to much flour and not enough liquid to make the bread. 4 C of flour may work but needed more liquid at that. I have it rising now. Bread came out to be 4" tall two loaves. Used 2 1/2 cups water and 1 1/2 cup butter milk and only 4 C bread flour, and 4 C rye flour. Tastes just fine. A little less rye flour will make it rise more. But it is fine as is.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
10 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 8, 2007
I found this bread good but seems to be missing something. Using a sour dough starter could make the difference. I have some ideas. Will let you know.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: North Cobalt, Ontario, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 15) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Hop On Easter
Hop On Easter

Recipes for baked ham, deviled eggs, and oh-so-cute treats.

Fresh Spring Recipes
Fresh Spring Recipes

The best ways to enjoy what’s in season right now.

Subscribe Today!
Subscribe Today!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $9.99!

Related Videos

How to Bake Your Sourdough Bread

See how to bake San Francisco-style sourdough bread.

How to Knead Your Sourdough Bread

Turn your sponge into bread dough and give it a good kneading.

French Bread Rolls To Die For

See how to make simple French bread dinner rolls from scratch.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States