Polish Sloppy Joes Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Feb. 27, 2008
This was easy/quick to make and had a lot of flavor. It was hard to keep the filling on the bun. I reduced the recipe to just one third and I got six sandwiches.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
14 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 11, 2008
I made these for my Tuesday card club lunch and all the ladies liked them I found the joes easy to make and delish. I made half a recpie as there are 6 of us. I couldn't find sauerkraut with caraway seed so I added 1tsp. caraway seed with the sauerkraut. My only change next time will be the rolls the kaiser ones ( to me) are just to much bread ( I'm not a bread fan). Thanks Laurie for a different sloppy joe that is oh so good!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Olean, New York, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 10, 2008
These are a really good alternative to the tradional sloppy joes with red sauce. Very yummy!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Smyrna, Georgia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 1, 2009
Made this for New Years Eve - Loved it too much!! We used the juice from the kraut instead of the broth, added a tsp of worcestershire, a little black pepper, and garlic salt. Excellent!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
25 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 16, 2009
I think this would have been good as written, but I did change it quite a bit. I used crumbled polish sausage, didn't use the chicken stock, just the sauerkraut juice. I also added about a half cup sour cream at the end, and that gave it a great taste as well as the saucy texture of a regular sloppy joe. Thanks for the recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
30 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Barbara K

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: South Bend, Indiana, USA
Reviewed: Oct. 11, 2012
I've made this recipe several times and we absolutely love it! Don't forget the thinly sliced Swiss and marble/rye bread.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by MinMay
Reviewed: May 30, 2014
I had leftover sauerkraut. I didn't know what to do with it, so I loved the idea of ground beef and sauerkraut combo, but didn't have celery or bell pepper, so I substituted some chopped carrots and mushrooms during cooking, instead, added garlic and Italian seasoning to the mix, and then fresh, diced tomatoes right before serving them on toasted hamburger buns. (I also used the sauerkraut juice tip from other reviewers) My husband and I both loved them!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 6, 2009
Great recipe. I used a 4 pound pork roast as I had no ground beef, baked it, shredded it and put it in the slowcooker for a few hours with 1 quart sauerkraut with juice, 1 cup chicken broth, 1 onion and 3 celery stalks. No bell pepper. Nice change.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 21, 2010
A nice base for a different type of sandwich. I couldn't find sauerkraut w/ caraway, so I subbed extra celery seed. Eliminated green pepper (wasn't in the mood for that taste), celery (since I used celery seed) and onions (used onion powder for flavor). Flavored the meat with seasonings while it was cooking. Used 2/3 ground turkey, 1/3 ground beef.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by catastrophiccook

Cooking Level: Beginning

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Joey Joan
Reviewed: Apr. 26, 2013
I liked it mom ate it and Bill said don't make this again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Joey Joan

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Clarkston, Michigan, USA
Living In: Hainesport, New Jersey, USA

Displaying results 1-10 (of 17) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Do Healthy Your Way
Do Healthy Your Way

Low-fat, low-carb, paleo, vegan. Get recipes for your lifestyle.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

How to Make Classic Sloppy Joes

Watch how to make this delicious cafeteria classic from scratch.

Sloppy Joes II

See how to make an All-American classic!

Super Easy Sloppy Joes

See how to make a super quick-and-easy recipe for sloppy joes.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States