Polish Sausage with Red Cabbage Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: May 29, 2006
This recipe is GREAT !!! The only advice I have is to make sure you give yourself plenty of time and not make it at the last minute. Simmer it slowly and make sure that after you add the cornstarch and brown sugar mixture to watch it closely, as there is not much liquid and could burn easily. I simmered it real low and watched it closely. I used Alice White Merlot and it was excellent. I think that by pouring the boiling water over it would soften it a bit and reduce the cooking time. I skipped this step and it turned out excellent. Also, the color is wonderful. Definitely a keeper of a recipe. Enjoy !!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by TRUDY

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Naples, Florida, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 16, 2007
My husband and I really like this dish with a few alterations. I do not rinse the cabbage in boiling water, and I do not use brown sugar. I use 1 cup of wine and 1/2 cup of chicken broth to cook the cabbage, and I add about 1 T Worcestershire sauce, 2 T dijon mustard, and about 1/2 t garlic salt. The first time I made it, I almost omitted the 30 minutes of cook time because polish sausage is pre-cooked, but cooking the sausage with the cabbage infuses a fantastic flavor!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
33 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 23, 2008
Wonderful! I used Red Cream Concord wine which is very sweet so I did not need to add any sugar. I rinsed my cabbage w/ boiling water and simmered it on low and had no trouble with burning. It tastes so sweet and fruity. Definately a KEEPER!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by mama mia

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Fredericksburg, Ohio, USA
Reviewed: Sep. 21, 2010
This was absolutely delicious and really cost effective...my favorite combination! The only changes that I made are that I added about 1/2 cup of water after the cornstarch and brown sugar mixture because it just didn't look like there was enough liquid. Also, I skipped the first step where you poured the boiling water over the cabbage since it just seemed like a pain and I didn't want to wash those extra dishes ;) Since you have the cabbage covered for most of the cooking time it sort of steams itself and my cabbage was perfectly soft by the end. I will be making this again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 9, 2010
Made this vegan with veggie sausage and margarine. The cabbage was AWESOME! It would be a perfect side dish without the meat too. Totally worth it to take the time cooking it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 25, 2001
We really enjoyed this! It is extremely easy but takes a while to cook so you have to start it early enough!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
14 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 19, 2012
Hearty and warming.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Beginning

Living In: Los Angeles, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 24, 2011
great....didnt take nearly as long as the psoting said it would. I think we were eating about an hour after starting. We put french fried onions over the top. Sounds weird but it actually added a great taste!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 25, 2013
I make this recipe every 2 weeks or so. I do not rinse the cabbage in boiling water. I use 1 cup of wine, omit the cornstarch, and just slice the sausage instead of dice. Yes, its a long cooking time but worth it. I often save the left over sauce and add it to the water that I boil rice/grains with. Creates a beautiful color and unbelievable flavour.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Penzance, Cornwall, England, U.K.
Living In: College Station, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 1, 2013
I like this recipe and have used Polish Sausage. For a variation I have used Linguisa. I cut the Linguisa up in small pieces (1" discs) and add 1/2 cup Balsamic Vinegar.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Ralph

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Kansas City, Kansas, USA
Living In: Vancouver, Washington, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 21) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

 Quick & Easy Grilling
Quick & Easy Grilling

Easy weeknight dinners, ready in a flash.

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Bratwurst and Red Cabbage

What's cooking in Poulsbo, Wash.? Uli's famous sausage with braised cabbage.

Chef John’s Braised Red Cabbage

See how to make flavorful, quick-and-easy braised red cabbage.

Braised Chicken Apple Sausages and Cabbage

See how to make a simple and comforting one-pot meal.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States