Polish Sausage with Red Cabbage Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Nov. 16, 2007
My husband and I really like this dish with a few alterations. I do not rinse the cabbage in boiling water, and I do not use brown sugar. I use 1 cup of wine and 1/2 cup of chicken broth to cook the cabbage, and I add about 1 T Worcestershire sauce, 2 T dijon mustard, and about 1/2 t garlic salt. The first time I made it, I almost omitted the 30 minutes of cook time because polish sausage is pre-cooked, but cooking the sausage with the cabbage infuses a fantastic flavor!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
33 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 26, 2002
This tasted REALLY GOOD, and my fiancee loved it too, even though he's not crazy about cabbage. A word of warning - my cabbage burned while it simmered for 45 minutes, there wasn't enough oil or liquid to prevent it. I would add some beef broth in addition to the wine next time...
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
18 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by CUCKOOBIRD

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Los Angeles, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 25, 2001
We really enjoyed this! It is extremely easy but takes a while to cook so you have to start it early enough!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
14 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 29, 2006
This recipe is GREAT !!! The only advice I have is to make sure you give yourself plenty of time and not make it at the last minute. Simmer it slowly and make sure that after you add the cornstarch and brown sugar mixture to watch it closely, as there is not much liquid and could burn easily. I simmered it real low and watched it closely. I used Alice White Merlot and it was excellent. I think that by pouring the boiling water over it would soften it a bit and reduce the cooking time. I skipped this step and it turned out excellent. Also, the color is wonderful. Definitely a keeper of a recipe. Enjoy !!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by TRUDY

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Naples, Florida, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 30, 2008
I prepared this recipe exactly as stated except using cooking wine instead of drinking wine. I thought that the texture was very odd due to the cornstarch. It was creamy which was a strange mix with the cabbage. I'd give it 3 *'s but my daughter actually liked it alot. I would prefer it- I think without the cornstarch but I don't know if it would be worth it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by JANER60

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 9, 2010
Made this vegan with veggie sausage and margarine. The cabbage was AWESOME! It would be a perfect side dish without the meat too. Totally worth it to take the time cooking it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 22, 2005
SURPRISE! SURPRISE! Much better than I expected--colorful, tasty, a change from the norm.....
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 16, 2004
Definitely a keeper recipe. I substituted beef broth for the wine and it turned out great. Even better the next day for leftovers.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 21, 2010
This was absolutely delicious and really cost effective...my favorite combination! The only changes that I made are that I added about 1/2 cup of water after the cornstarch and brown sugar mixture because it just didn't look like there was enough liquid. Also, I skipped the first step where you poured the boiling water over the cabbage since it just seemed like a pain and I didn't want to wash those extra dishes ;) Since you have the cabbage covered for most of the cooking time it sort of steams itself and my cabbage was perfectly soft by the end. I will be making this again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 25, 2011
Gave this four stars since I knew my Polish husband would not even taste the cabbage. He loved the sausage (even though there was "cabbage sauce" all over the kielbasa). Excellent flavor, consistency & basically ease of preparation. Next time I make this I may add some thinly sliced onion (not too much) to the cabbage. Maybe some carraway seed to the mixture (in memory of my Grandma's version).
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Manzanita

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: San Diego, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 21) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Dinner in the Fast Lane
Dinner in the Fast Lane

Get quick & easy recipes for your busiest days.

Football Food for the Win
Football Food for the Win

All the game-day eats you need to crush the tailgate competition.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Bratwurst and Red Cabbage

What's cooking in Poulsbo, Wash.? Uli's famous sausage with braised cabbage.

Chef John’s Braised Red Cabbage

See how to make flavorful, quick-and-easy braised red cabbage.

Braised Chicken Apple Sausages and Cabbage

See how to make a simple and comforting one-pot meal.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States