Polish Sausage with Red Cabbage Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Jun. 25, 2013
I make this recipe every 2 weeks or so. I do not rinse the cabbage in boiling water. I use 1 cup of wine, omit the cornstarch, and just slice the sausage instead of dice. Yes, its a long cooking time but worth it. I often save the left over sauce and add it to the water that I boil rice/grains with. Creates a beautiful color and unbelievable flavour.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Penzance, Cornwall, England, U.K.
Living In: College Station, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 1, 2013
I like this recipe and have used Polish Sausage. For a variation I have used Linguisa. I cut the Linguisa up in small pieces (1" discs) and add 1/2 cup Balsamic Vinegar.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Ralph

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Kansas City, Kansas, USA
Living In: Vancouver, Washington, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 19, 2012
Hearty and warming.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Beginning

Living In: Los Angeles, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 22, 2012
Good combination of flavors. I suppose it may depend on how large a head of red cabbage is used, but there wasn't enough liquid to simmer for over an hour total. I added a little more wine and some water with beef boullion and that provided enough simmering liquid. Next time I'm going to add some sliced onion to this - seems like it would go well with the flavors.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Morris, Minnesota, USA
Living In: Tucson, Arizona, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 24, 2011
great....didnt take nearly as long as the psoting said it would. I think we were eating about an hour after starting. We put french fried onions over the top. Sounds weird but it actually added a great taste!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 21, 2011
After reading the reviews, I skipped the boiling water part, used a meyer lemon for juice, the 1/2 cup of merlot plus 1 cup of beef broth (made from bouillon and water), and added some Worcestershire sauce too. Did not add dijon as the pepper and garlicky spices from the turkey kielbasa were enough. I used the sugar but skipped the cornstarch and served with mashed potatoes. I even cooked it 15 minutes less than indicated and it was fine so if it's getting late and you are hungry, don't worry about the total cook time. Maybe I will try the cornstarch next time. Hubby really enjoyed this and he comes from an East European family, so that means something! Thanks.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by In-a-Pickle

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Toronto, Ontario, Canada
Living In: Portland, Oregon, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 25, 2011
Gave this four stars since I knew my Polish husband would not even taste the cabbage. He loved the sausage (even though there was "cabbage sauce" all over the kielbasa). Excellent flavor, consistency & basically ease of preparation. Next time I make this I may add some thinly sliced onion (not too much) to the cabbage. Maybe some carraway seed to the mixture (in memory of my Grandma's version).
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Manzanita

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: San Diego, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 21, 2010
This was absolutely delicious and really cost effective...my favorite combination! The only changes that I made are that I added about 1/2 cup of water after the cornstarch and brown sugar mixture because it just didn't look like there was enough liquid. Also, I skipped the first step where you poured the boiling water over the cabbage since it just seemed like a pain and I didn't want to wash those extra dishes ;) Since you have the cabbage covered for most of the cooking time it sort of steams itself and my cabbage was perfectly soft by the end. I will be making this again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 9, 2010
Made this vegan with veggie sausage and margarine. The cabbage was AWESOME! It would be a perfect side dish without the meat too. Totally worth it to take the time cooking it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 17, 2009
I had no idea what to do with the red cabbages i grew in my garden this year and this was perfect! I used turkey sausage and cooked it all in a dutch oven. YUMMY!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Alex

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Bethlehem, Pennsylvania, USA

Displaying results 1-10 (of 21) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Do Healthy Your Way
Do Healthy Your Way

Low-fat, low-carb, paleo, vegan. Get recipes for your lifestyle.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Bratwurst and Red Cabbage

What's cooking in Poulsbo, Wash.? Uli's famous sausage with braised cabbage.

Chef John’s Braised Red Cabbage

See how to make flavorful, quick-and-easy braised red cabbage.

Braised Chicken Apple Sausages and Cabbage

See how to make a simple and comforting one-pot meal.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States