Polish Sausage Kraut Skillet Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Jul. 27, 2014
I made it exactly as posted. Was really good!! Next time I will add more saurkraut and perhaps leave out the sour cream.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by SIGNINGMOMMYOF2

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 11, 2014
I took advice of another reviewer and used a dutch oven. I used fresh polish sausage that I cooked the day before and chicken instead of beef bullion. Other than that I made the recipe as is. I wouldn't skip anything at all! The caraway seeds add SO MUCH flavor as does the sour cream. I don't even care for sauerkraut that much and love this dish!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 4, 2014
I really liked this!!!! You don't have to add the sour cream - I think it just adds extra calories! I would add more carrots and leave out the potatoes just because I always make mashed potatoes! Yummmmmmm!!!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Shanon K ♥

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Cynthiana, Kentucky, USA
Living In: Nashville, Tennessee, USA
Reviewed: Jan. 5, 2014
It was really good and easy to make. The sour cream really tamed down the kraut flavor.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 10, 2013
I omitted the sour cream and flour like others suggested - it turned out quite watery (the cup of water never really reduced) and the taste of the sauerkraut really got lost.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 26, 2013
This was delicious! I didn't have the caraway seeds, potatoes or carrots, but found this through an ingredient search for sausage and kraut and gave it a whirl. I used the sour cream and flour and added some extra beef broth to make more "sauce". I had some leftover garlic mashed potatoes so I served it over them - sounds weird, but I think it made it even better. This one was a hit with everyone, even our son (who HATES sauerkraut). The sour cream seems to tame the kraut taste, so I recommend using it. In fact, I'm making this the same way for dinner again tonight!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 24, 2013
Edible, but we didn't really care for it
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Columbus, Michigan, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 15, 2013
Delicious!!!! If you like sauerkraut and kielbasa... you willl love this recipe! The sour cream makes it soo good too! Im not big on carrots, so could have done with out that!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 17, 2013
This is an AMAZING dish. I have made it twice now and I'd be lying if I didn't say that the first attempt was better than the second. The caraway seeds add a nice additional flavor. This is definitely a new favorite in our house!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 16, 2012
My German Grandmother used to make something like this. It was even better than I remembered!!! Even my son who hates sauerkraut LOVED this. I will DEFINITELY make this again and again and again. I did make a few minor changes though. I diced and sauted the sausage with the carrots and garlic so I didnt need the butter. I used chicken bouillon instead of beef. I mixed in the sauerkraut (which I squeezed the liquid out of) instead of layeriing it. Will double next time for leftovers. YUM!!!!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Tina Thomas Hand

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Glen Burnie, Maryland, USA

Displaying results 1-10 (of 45) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Speedy Weeknight Meals
Speedy Weeknight Meals

We’ll help you get dinner on the table in no time flat.

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Veggie and Sausage Skillet Pizza

See how to make a delicious deep-dish style pizza in a skillet.

Cotechino Pork Sausage and Braised Beans

See how to make a sensational braised pork sausage and white bean dish.

Breakfast Sausage

See how easy it is to make breakfast pork sausage from scratch.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States