Polish Sausage Kraut Skillet Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Oct. 3, 2009
Loved it! I used 98% fat free cream of celery because that's all I had on hand, beef broth instead of water and a healthy dash of A-1 Steaksauce with the onion soup mix and cooked it on low for about 6 hours.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 3, 2009
I made this today wondering how it would turn out. GREAT! It is one of the most delicious dishes i've ever eaten. HOWEVER, next time I will make it in a dutch oven, as the skillet is just not deep enough and it makes a mess of the stove while cooking. I had a surprise guest for lunch and she loved it, too. The only thing i would add might be some chopped parsley scattered over it as garnish. THANK YOU!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 1, 2010
Great ethnic dish with the basics covered, so you can add your family traditions twist too it as you like. With my Polish ancestry kicking in, I used 1 tsp caraway seed, 2 bay leaves and about 1/3 tp peppercorns. I also did not use the sausage (didnt have it on hand), sour cream or flour, and it was a great side dish to a few lightly fried pork chops. I also added extra potatoes and plan to pick up some polish sausage tomorrow a there is plenty left!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 13, 2009
Very flavorful, evryone enjoyed this one, will be making this again!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by 2acres4me

Cooking Level: Beginning

Living In: Howell, Michigan, USA
Reviewed: Feb. 16, 2010
Wow. This was a surprise hit. I had some kielbasa in the freezer and a can of sauerkraut, so I was looking for a way to jazz it up. In order to speed up cooking, I put everything other than the sour cream and flour in the skillet from the beginning with the potatoes and carrots sliced thin. I also used dried minced onion and garlic powder. I brought it to a boil and simmered it all for about 20 minutes until the potatoes and carrots were tender and the meat thermometer read 170+. Then I added the sour cream and flour. As I noticed all that delicious creamy sauce, I quickly decided to cook some egg noodles to serve this over. Yum! My 6-year-old son proclaimed it his favorite food. What a shocker!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
17 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 8, 2009
This was really good. I drained the water off the kraut. Left out the sour cream and flour. It was perfect without it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
25 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by LordGary

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Maryland Heights, Missouri, USA
Reviewed: Jan. 9, 2010
This was fantastic-even the kids asked for more! I decided to make this as a side dish, so I added an extra potato and only used 1/2 a package of sausage. Following other reviewers, I left out the sour cream at the end. It was perfect! This one goes in our repertoire for sure!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by amandagorby

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 24, 2010
We really enjoyed this one! Just a few minor changes for us though.....used turkey kielbasa, olive oil instead of butter, totally elimanated the potatoes(and made pierogies on the side), and used only 1/2c. sour cream(low fat)......very tasty and a nice easy one pot meal. Will make again. Loved the caraway seed.....adds a lot of flavor....great with the kraut. Thanks!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by SLJ6

Cooking Level: Expert

Reviewed: Jan. 20, 2010
This was easy and tasted great.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 23, 2010
This was very good - My children even liked it - They do not like kraut - Very good choice - I subsituted the white potatoes for sweet potatoes and it gave it a sweet flavor - Thank you for posting your receipe
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 45) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Want to Grill Tonight?
Want to Grill Tonight?

Check out time-saving recipes, because any night’s a good night to grill.

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Veggie and Sausage Skillet Pizza

See how to make a delicious deep-dish style pizza in a skillet.

Cotechino Pork Sausage and Braised Beans

See how to make a sensational braised pork sausage and white bean dish.

Breakfast Sausage

See how easy it is to make breakfast pork sausage from scratch.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States