Polish Sausage Kraut Skillet Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 4)
Reviewed: Sep. 30, 2010
This was good. My husband said he "liked it, it was different". Will make again next time I will add more potatoes as I doubled the recipe and 4 potatoes just didn't seem like enough. Don't skip the sour cream that is was makes it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 30, 2010
I did like the addition of the caraway seed, it tasted great. However, i followed the recipe exactly as stated and this recipe is not for me!! I feel it was a waste of time and ingredients!! I was so dissapointed!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by amandak23k
Reviewed: Sep. 23, 2010
This is a great skillet meal!!!! You MUST try it with the sour cream flour mixture, it really adds to the dish. I halved the recipe using 1/2 a can of kraut, 1/2 can of sliced carrots, 3 potatoes, and 1/2 lb of sliced kielbasa sausage, kept the seasonings and the sugar the same. I put half of that in another pan and added the sour cream and flour mixture. I preferred the one with the sour cream!! Yummy I will make this again! A great weeknight meal.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by amandak23k

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Reviewed: Sep. 17, 2010
I also left out the sour cream. I did make a white sauce and the flavors were good. Diffently would make this again
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Diana Naas
Living In: Ione, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 16, 2010
Very good. My wife is no fan of saurkraut but likes this. Not very popular with our kids though.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Subvet

Cooking Level: Beginning

Home Town: Islip Terrace, New York, USA
Living In: Princeton, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 23, 2010
This was very good - My children even liked it - They do not like kraut - Very good choice - I subsituted the white potatoes for sweet potatoes and it gave it a sweet flavor - Thank you for posting your receipe
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 24, 2010
We really enjoyed this one! Just a few minor changes for us though.....used turkey kielbasa, olive oil instead of butter, totally elimanated the potatoes(and made pierogies on the side), and used only 1/2c. sour cream(low fat)......very tasty and a nice easy one pot meal. Will make again. Loved the caraway seed.....adds a lot of flavor....great with the kraut. Thanks!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by SLJ6

Cooking Level: Expert

Reviewed: Mar. 10, 2010
Didn't care for this... If you don't like sauerkraut you shouldn't make sauerkraut, instead of making it and then covering it up. My man loves sauerkraut and if he likes it, he'll go back for seconds... not this time.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Sandoo4

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Kirkland, Illinois, USA
Living In: Marengo, Illinois, USA
Reviewed: Feb. 16, 2010
Wow. This was a surprise hit. I had some kielbasa in the freezer and a can of sauerkraut, so I was looking for a way to jazz it up. In order to speed up cooking, I put everything other than the sour cream and flour in the skillet from the beginning with the potatoes and carrots sliced thin. I also used dried minced onion and garlic powder. I brought it to a boil and simmered it all for about 20 minutes until the potatoes and carrots were tender and the meat thermometer read 170+. Then I added the sour cream and flour. As I noticed all that delicious creamy sauce, I quickly decided to cook some egg noodles to serve this over. Yum! My 6-year-old son proclaimed it his favorite food. What a shocker!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
20 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 1, 2010
Great ethnic dish with the basics covered, so you can add your family traditions twist too it as you like. With my Polish ancestry kicking in, I used 1 tsp caraway seed, 2 bay leaves and about 1/3 tp peppercorns. I also did not use the sausage (didnt have it on hand), sour cream or flour, and it was a great side dish to a few lightly fried pork chops. I also added extra potatoes and plan to pick up some polish sausage tomorrow a there is plenty left!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 31-40 (of 50) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Chicken Breast Recipes
Chicken Breast Recipes

With our 2,700+ chicken breast recipes, you'll never serve the same old chicken again.

Zucchini On The Grill
Zucchini On The Grill

The firm, juicy texture of zucchini make them a perfect side to toss on the grill.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Veggie and Sausage Skillet Pizza

See how to make a delicious deep-dish style pizza in a skillet.

Smoked Sausage with Potatoes & Sauerkraut

See how to put a modern smoked sausage twist on a classic German dish.

Breakfast Sausage

See how easy it is to make breakfast pork sausage from scratch.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States