Polish Sausage Kraut Skillet Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 2)
Reviewed: Sep. 26, 2013
This was delicious! I didn't have the caraway seeds, potatoes or carrots, but found this through an ingredient search for sausage and kraut and gave it a whirl. I used the sour cream and flour and added some extra beef broth to make more "sauce". I had some leftover garlic mashed potatoes so I served it over them - sounds weird, but I think it made it even better. This one was a hit with everyone, even our son (who HATES sauerkraut). The sour cream seems to tame the kraut taste, so I recommend using it. In fact, I'm making this the same way for dinner again tonight!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 24, 2013
Edible, but we didn't really care for it
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Columbus, Michigan, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 15, 2013
Delicious!!!! If you like sauerkraut and kielbasa... you willl love this recipe! The sour cream makes it soo good too! Im not big on carrots, so could have done with out that!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 17, 2013
This is an AMAZING dish. I have made it twice now and I'd be lying if I didn't say that the first attempt was better than the second. The caraway seeds add a nice additional flavor. This is definitely a new favorite in our house!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 16, 2012
My German Grandmother used to make something like this. It was even better than I remembered!!! Even my son who hates sauerkraut LOVED this. I will DEFINITELY make this again and again and again. I did make a few minor changes though. I diced and sauted the sausage with the carrots and garlic so I didnt need the butter. I used chicken bouillon instead of beef. I mixed in the sauerkraut (which I squeezed the liquid out of) instead of layeriing it. Will double next time for leftovers. YUM!!!!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
11 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Tina Thomas Hand

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Glen Burnie, Maryland, USA
Reviewed: Sep. 21, 2012
This was absolutely PHENOMENAL! My grandmother was Polish and used to make dishes so similar to this ... she's been gone almost 20 years now, but as I was making this the smell took me back to her kitchen. My husband absolutely LOVED this! I'm a hit or miss cooker either it's great like this, or I make rubbery fish (don't ask). I made it almost as written. Instead of the bouillon and water, I just used beef broth instead. I also didn't have any caraway seeds, otherwise it was cooked as written. Otherwise though, I wouldn't change anything - SO good and definitely a keeper!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 22, 2012
I didn't have caraway seeds, so I didn't use them. And like others omitted the sour cream/ flour step (although he added sour cream to the finished product after I mentioned I left out that step). My boyfriend almost ate the WHOLE PAN!!! He left a small corner!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Lena

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: San Diego, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 10, 2012
This would have been tasty if I hadn't added the sour cream/flour which made it very mushy. Very unappetizing looking. I make a similiar dish but tried this for a change. I followed this recipe exactly. I do like the recipe up until the sour cream addition so I may try it again without it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by mamacook

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Milwaukee, Wisconsin, USA
Living In: Culver City, California, USA
Reviewed: May 10, 2012
I made this without the addition of potatoes and carrots and served it with pierogies. It was excellent and the sour cream sauce was a great accompaniment to the pierogies! Nice way to perk up an ordinary week night meal.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 7, 2012
I made this recipe to appease my husband, whose German mother made something similar. Even though I don't care for sauerkraut, I enjoyed this recipe too. The sour cream really tamed the taste of the kraut. I used chicken broth instead of beef bouillion + water.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 11-20 (of 50) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

French Toast
French Toast

French toast is such a perfect breakfast, light lunch, or even supper on these warm days.

Crisp Cucumber Salads
Crisp Cucumber Salads

Try one of our 100-plus cool cucumber salads.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Veggie and Sausage Skillet Pizza

See how to make a delicious deep-dish style pizza in a skillet.

Smoked Sausage with Potatoes & Sauerkraut

See how to put a modern smoked sausage twist on a classic German dish.

Breakfast Sausage

See how easy it is to make breakfast pork sausage from scratch.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States