Polish Sausage Kraut Skillet Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 2)
Reviewed: Oct. 16, 2012
My German Grandmother used to make something like this. It was even better than I remembered!!! Even my son who hates sauerkraut LOVED this. I will DEFINITELY make this again and again and again. I did make a few minor changes though. I diced and sauted the sausage with the carrots and garlic so I didnt need the butter. I used chicken bouillon instead of beef. I mixed in the sauerkraut (which I squeezed the liquid out of) instead of layeriing it. Will double next time for leftovers. YUM!!!!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Tina Thomas Hand

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Glen Burnie, Maryland, USA
Reviewed: Sep. 21, 2012
This was absolutely PHENOMENAL! My grandmother was Polish and used to make dishes so similar to this ... she's been gone almost 20 years now, but as I was making this the smell took me back to her kitchen. My husband absolutely LOVED this! I'm a hit or miss cooker either it's great like this, or I make rubbery fish (don't ask). I made it almost as written. Instead of the bouillon and water, I just used beef broth instead. I also didn't have any caraway seeds, otherwise it was cooked as written. Otherwise though, I wouldn't change anything - SO good and definitely a keeper!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 22, 2012
I didn't have caraway seeds, so I didn't use them. And like others omitted the sour cream/ flour step (although he added sour cream to the finished product after I mentioned I left out that step). My boyfriend almost ate the WHOLE PAN!!! He left a small corner!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Lena

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: San Diego, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 10, 2012
This would have been tasty if I hadn't added the sour cream/flour which made it very mushy. Very unappetizing looking. I make a similiar dish but tried this for a change. I followed this recipe exactly. I do like the recipe up until the sour cream addition so I may try it again without it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by mamacook

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Milwaukee, Wisconsin, USA
Living In: Culver City, California, USA
Reviewed: May 10, 2012
I made this without the addition of potatoes and carrots and served it with pierogies. It was excellent and the sour cream sauce was a great accompaniment to the pierogies! Nice way to perk up an ordinary week night meal.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 7, 2012
I made this recipe to appease my husband, whose German mother made something similar. Even though I don't care for sauerkraut, I enjoyed this recipe too. The sour cream really tamed the taste of the kraut. I used chicken broth instead of beef bouillion + water.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 7, 2011
Very yummy! Didn't have beef bouillon or caraway seed and even after omitting those it was still delicious. I added some more spices for flavor and definitely replace water with chicken broth it makes it so much better! My husband loves it and my friends wanted the recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Newnan, Georgia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 28, 2011
I had to use brats sausage because thats all I had but we thought this was delicious. I wondered about the sour cream but I really think it makes this recipe sooo good.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Patty

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Amarillo, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 14, 2011
Great one skillet meal! Used ALL the ingredients with just a few minor "amount" changes. My family loves sausage so I doubled the amount. Used about twice the sugar because the can of kraut I used was very vinegar-y. Used half the amount of sour cream which still gave it a nice creamy texture. A winner at our house!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by MONA

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Los Angeles, California, USA
Living In: Wilmington, Delaware, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 31, 2011
I was a little unsure of this recipe, but wow! It turned out delicious! I will make this again and again! The only changes I made were: chicken for beef bouillon (didn't have any) and I used dried minced onion and packaged minced garlic instead of the fresh stuff...either way, it was a great meal!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 11-20 (of 46) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

It’s Ghouls’ Night Out
It’s Ghouls’ Night Out

Get cute n’ creepy recipes to feed all your little monsters.

Allrecipes Cooking School
Allrecipes Cooking School

It’s everything you need to cook your best. Learn more about Allrecipes Cooking School.

Football Food for the Win
Football Food for the Win

All the game-day eats you need to crush the tailgate competition.

Related Videos

Veggie and Sausage Skillet Pizza

See how to make a delicious deep-dish style pizza in a skillet.

Smoked Sausage with Potatoes & Sauerkraut

See how to put a modern smoked sausage twist on a classic German dish.

Breakfast Sausage

See how easy it is to make breakfast pork sausage from scratch.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States