Polish Reuben Casserole Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Sep. 10, 2001
Excellent "winter food". Delicious & easy.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 13, 2002
This is a great recipe! I am Housemother of 10 teens and triple the recipe to feed my crew. I have made this many times now, have given the recipe to other Housemothers, staff and friends. An easy recipe that is tasty (even for the non-sauerkraut eaters!)and easy on the budget. Thanks for sharing!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 1, 2002
We enjoyed this very much.Did make some adjustments, however. I scaled the recipe to four servings and it made quite a bit; enough for 6 people. A couple of the reviews mentionned dryness so I cooked the noodles first. No problem with moisture. Instead of whole wheat bread, I used polish rye. I used the food processor since it is a hard bread and this worked well. I melted 2 tablespoons of butter in a skillet and then added the crumbs until butter was absorbed. I think the adjustments made a creamier, more flavorful dish.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
35 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Marietta, Georgia, USA
Living In: Glenview, Illinois, USA
Reviewed: Nov. 4, 2002
This was absolutely delicious! It tasted just like a reuben sandwich. I had extra kielbasa, so I also increased the noodle amount slightly and added about 2 heaping tablespoons of sour cream to the soup/milk mixture. Warm, creamy and very comforting. I'll make it again for sure.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
13 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 7, 2003
Absolutely yummy casserole! So easy to fix and makes lots for leftovers! Depends of course how many mouths are being fed - casserole nice and creamy - not dry at all! Tastes like a Reuben Sandwich. Will fix many times again! RECOMMENDED!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 13, 2004
My husband loved this recipe and I really liked it! He had 3 helpings and I had 2! I made a few changes 1. I left out the onions and bread crumbs 2. added chopped cabbage and 1/2 the saurkraut amount (wouldn't add cabbage again) 3. used turkey kielbasa 4. used 98% fat free low sodium cream of mushroom soup. 5. after baking for an hour I broiled it for 8 minutes to brown the kielbasa a bit This was SO EASY to make- I will definitely keep this recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 26, 2005
EVERYONE loves this recipe - mom, grandma, all my siblings, their whole families, etc. You do have to rinse the sauerkraut VERY well and SQUEEZE it out and rinse it again. I always add double the mustard and onions because we like that kind of stuff. I usually make half, and use only 1/2 pound of sausage instead of 3/4. Next time I will try the low fat version - lowfat soup, skim milk, no yolks noodles,etc.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 8, 2005
Very easy and tasty! I added a little more milk (1/3 cup) and it was great! Everyone really liked it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 9, 2005
We really enjoyed this! I only had 1 can of saurkraut, but othewise made it exactly as written. Even the older kids ate it!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 12, 2006
This was very yummy! Could definitely use a little more spice... not sure with what though. I used rye bread crumbs and didn't have any onions, but it was very good - definitely a keeper. And it's even better left over!! (Doesn't look quite as nice, but tastes so good!!)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Brooke Summer

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Aurora, Colorado, USA

Displaying results 1-10 (of 52) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Super Bowl Feast
Super Bowl Feast

Chili, brats, and more to feed your hungry football fans.

Sweet Touchdown Treats
Sweet Touchdown Treats

Cheer on your team with a little something sweet.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Grandma's Polish Perogies

See how to make traditional potato and cheese-filled perogies.

Tuna Noodle Casserole I

Incredibly simple to make, this tuna casserole really satisfies.

Pizza Casserole

Everything you love about pizza in a simple casserole.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States