Polish Reuben Casserole Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: May 1, 2002
We enjoyed this very much.Did make some adjustments, however. I scaled the recipe to four servings and it made quite a bit; enough for 6 people. A couple of the reviews mentionned dryness so I cooked the noodles first. No problem with moisture. Instead of whole wheat bread, I used polish rye. I used the food processor since it is a hard bread and this worked well. I melted 2 tablespoons of butter in a skillet and then added the crumbs until butter was absorbed. I think the adjustments made a creamier, more flavorful dish.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
35 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Marietta, Georgia, USA
Living In: Glenview, Illinois, USA
Reviewed: Nov. 4, 2002
This was absolutely delicious! It tasted just like a reuben sandwich. I had extra kielbasa, so I also increased the noodle amount slightly and added about 2 heaping tablespoons of sour cream to the soup/milk mixture. Warm, creamy and very comforting. I'll make it again for sure.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
13 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 19, 2007
This recipe is fantastic! I did adjust a bit however, cooking the noodles first and using Rye Bread crumbs, and the results were great! A real crowd pleaser!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
12 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Dingmans Ferry, Pennsylvania, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 11, 2003
I took this to a family potluck where it went over very well, but I thought it was missing something. The second time I made it I added caraway seed to the soup mixture and used rye bread crumbs instead of whole wheat.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
10 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Sarah Jo
Reviewed: Mar. 22, 2009
I was recommended this recipe when asking what to do with kielbasa on the recipe exchange. I only used one can of sauerkraut that I rinsed and drained/pressed the water out of VERY well. I used two packages of kielbasa that I sauteed with a whole onion, then drained off the fat. I also made my own breadcrumbs and cooked the egg noodles a bit before layering them in the casserole. This recipe makes A LOT, so if you have a family who eats bigger servings then this would be eight servings. This filled a whole 9x13 glass baking dish. This was good, but I think it could be better, like with a thousand-island type homemade dressing, using chopped pickles instead of cream of mushroom soup with mustard. Perhaps with sour cream and ketchup? As is, it's a tasty casserole, though.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Sarah Jo

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Seattle, Washington, USA
Living In: Belle Vernon, Pennsylvania, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by ONIOND
Reviewed: Feb. 28, 2008
Excellent flavor (if you like sauerkraut!)--just beware, this is very filling! Although the leftovers are quite yummy too. I have made half the recipe and it works well in my square casserole. I made it with turkey kielbasa and 98% fat free mushroom soup and it still tasted great! UPDATE: Made this again with rye bread crumbs and it really is much tastier. I cooked for 45 minutes at 350 then took off the foil and stuck it under the broiler for 5 minutes to toast the crumbs...the best!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by ONIOND

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Minneapolis, Minnesota, USA
Reviewed: Feb. 8, 2001
Very good! A sprinkle of caraway seeds on top of the sauerkraut adds a nice touch. Next time I make this I will use crushed rye crackers for the topping instead of bread crumbs.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 13, 2002
This is a great recipe! I am Housemother of 10 teens and triple the recipe to feed my crew. I have made this many times now, have given the recipe to other Housemothers, staff and friends. An easy recipe that is tasty (even for the non-sauerkraut eaters!)and easy on the budget. Thanks for sharing!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 27, 2007
My husband loves these kind of casseroles because of the sauerkraut. This one didnt let him down and after 6 years he stills loves it. Its almost like German Lasagne!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by love2cook

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 22, 2003
This recipe is so unusual but my family really liked it. After reading that some had a problem with dryness, I added the whole package of sauerkraut, liquid and all into the pan. It came out nice and moist. Also, because I had some in the freezer, I made the bread crumbs out of pumpernickel bread and it was really yummy. Thanks for a different, but good recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by cheesemaker

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Binghamton, New York, USA
Living In: Watkins Glen, New York, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 52) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Passover Celebration
Passover Celebration

Celebrate Passover with Jewish main dishes, desserts, and traditional holiday foods.

Easter Lamb, Ham, and More
Easter Lamb, Ham, and More

Choose your Easter dinner main dish from hams, savory lamb, and over 150 more recipes.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Grandma's Polish Perogies

See how to make traditional potato and cheese-filled perogies.

Tuna Noodle Casserole I

Incredibly simple to make, this tuna casserole really satisfies.

Pizza Casserole

Everything you love about pizza in a simple casserole.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States