Polish Reuben Casserole Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Feb. 8, 2001
Very good! A sprinkle of caraway seeds on top of the sauerkraut adds a nice touch. Next time I make this I will use crushed rye crackers for the topping instead of bread crumbs.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 14, 2001
Sorry, but this recipe was not liked among my family. I even substituted rye bread crumbs as someone else suggested and the different tastes just didn't seem to go together very well.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 6, 2001
Too dry.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 10, 2001
Excellent "winter food". Delicious & easy.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 16, 2002
This was a great recipe. Maybe being of German heritage helped! Really enjoyed it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 13, 2002
This is a great recipe! I am Housemother of 10 teens and triple the recipe to feed my crew. I have made this many times now, have given the recipe to other Housemothers, staff and friends. An easy recipe that is tasty (even for the non-sauerkraut eaters!)and easy on the budget. Thanks for sharing!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 1, 2002
We enjoyed this very much.Did make some adjustments, however. I scaled the recipe to four servings and it made quite a bit; enough for 6 people. A couple of the reviews mentionned dryness so I cooked the noodles first. No problem with moisture. Instead of whole wheat bread, I used polish rye. I used the food processor since it is a hard bread and this worked well. I melted 2 tablespoons of butter in a skillet and then added the crumbs until butter was absorbed. I think the adjustments made a creamier, more flavorful dish.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
35 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Marietta, Georgia, USA
Living In: Glenview, Illinois, USA
Reviewed: Nov. 4, 2002
This was absolutely delicious! It tasted just like a reuben sandwich. I had extra kielbasa, so I also increased the noodle amount slightly and added about 2 heaping tablespoons of sour cream to the soup/milk mixture. Warm, creamy and very comforting. I'll make it again for sure.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
13 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 7, 2003
Absolutely yummy casserole! So easy to fix and makes lots for leftovers! Depends of course how many mouths are being fed - casserole nice and creamy - not dry at all! Tastes like a Reuben Sandwich. Will fix many times again! RECOMMENDED!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 22, 2003
This recipe is so unusual but my family really liked it. After reading that some had a problem with dryness, I added the whole package of sauerkraut, liquid and all into the pan. It came out nice and moist. Also, because I had some in the freezer, I made the bread crumbs out of pumpernickel bread and it was really yummy. Thanks for a different, but good recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by cheesemaker

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Binghamton, New York, USA
Living In: Watkins Glen, New York, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 52) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Top Dessert Recipes
Top Dessert Recipes

Rated, reviewed, and ready to satisfy your sweet cravings.

Best Party Recipes
Best Party Recipes

Essential eats, sips, and tips for your next gathering.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Grandma's Polish Perogies

See how to make traditional potato and cheese-filled perogies.

Tuna Noodle Casserole I

Incredibly simple to make, this tuna casserole really satisfies.

Pizza Casserole

Everything you love about pizza in a simple casserole.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States