Polish Pound Cake Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Nov. 19, 2012
I have made this cake probably 5 times. Every cake has come out well. Everyone who has tasted the cakes give a grade of 5.0.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Winona, West Virginia, USA
Living In: Elizabethton, Tennessee, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 2, 2011
very good. brought to madonnas for easter 2011
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 7, 2011
Absolutely wonderful pound cake! We don't like maraschino cherries so I used 1 c. dried cranberries. I should've tossed them in the flour with the nuts so they would be distrubted more thoroughly throughout. I went with 2 hrs. baking time. The toothpick came out clean. Nothing worse than a dry cake so I went with that. Had a little bit of trouble getting it out of a well-greased/floured pan but that might be because the cranberries mostly fell to the bottom (top) without being tossed with the nuts in flour. Great raves and requests for this recipe at a potluck last night!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 6, 2011
Wow. This cake is moist and everyone loves it. It has a great crust and it was sweet with a dusting of powdered sugar. I will make it again and again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 20, 2009
I'm rating this low due to the butter and shortening, plus the 5 eggs. It really is good, though, and if you don't have a health problem it's also lovely to look at. My husband really does like it, so it rates a 5 star in looks & taste.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Trenton, Tennessee, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 19, 2009
This cake is fabulous. Dense and moist. Baked at 300 in my oven it was done in 1 1/2 hours. The only issue I had with this cake was getting it out of the bundt pan. Make sure to grease & flour this REALLY GOOD! Definitely a "keeper" recipe. Highly recommend! YUM!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Baker Beth
Reviewed: Feb. 3, 2009
I loved this recipe. I substituted buttermilk for the condensed milk and used pecans instead of walnuts. It was delicious. I frosted with Satiny Chocolate Glaze.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Baker Beth

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Saint Louis, Missouri, USA
Reviewed: Nov. 29, 2008
Excellent cake. I gotta say that I usually burn everything I try to bake .. but not this cake ! Maybe it was the low temperature -- I don't know. I did only cook mine for about 2 hours. Also added an amaretto glaze after it had cooled. (Just mixed powdered sugar and amaretto until the right consistency).
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by lons65

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Pike Creek, Delaware, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 25, 2008
The cake is sweet with a moist dense texture. No icing is needed but beware...let the bake the entire 2 1/2 hours. I was nervous from reading other reviews and took it out 20 minutes early and the bottom of the cake wasn't completely finished baking.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 3, 2007
I have never gotten so many great comments on a cake in my life. I have made it several times for all different groups and it pleases everyone. I dust mine with powdered sugar.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Hazlet, New Jersey, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 18) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Do Healthy Your Way
Do Healthy Your Way

Low-fat, low-carb, paleo, vegan. Get recipes for your lifestyle.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Pistachio Cake III

See how to make a moist, delicious pistachio cake.

Four Egg Yellow Cake

See how to make a simple, fluffy, and moist yellow cake.

Scottley's Basic Yellow Cake

See how to make a simple homemade yellow cake.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States