Polish Noodles (Cottage Cheese and Noodles) Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Photo by Brandilynn7
Reviewed: May 16, 2012
This recipe does not have to be made with egg noodles. Rigatoni, shells, even wagon wheel noodles are all equally delicious with it. I use whatever I have on hand. This dish is also yummy leftover, but some of the cottage cheese will soak or melt into the noodles so I like to add an additional scoop of cottage cheese in when I reheat the leftovers.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
17 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Brandilynn7

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Wheeling, West Virginia, USA
Living In: San Diego, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 19, 2012
It was a super easy, quick dish that tasted fantastic. I have it twice. The first time with egg noodles, and the second time I took another reviwer's suggestion and made it with wagon wheel noodles, which was the only pasta I had in the pantry at the time. Both ways turned out great. This is also a very kid friendly dish and is a nice alternative to the typical mac and cheese, which I can get burned out on.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
19 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 6, 2012
I used red onion and the flavor was great! This was very simple to make, very tasty, and better for you than mac and cheese, since I used low fat cottage cheese, light butter, fat free sour cream, and whole wheat noodles.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 8, 2012
Made this for lunch today and I must say, I like this so much better than mac and cheese! I just loved, loved, loved the flavor from the onion. It was one of the easiest recipes to make and made more than enough (I have leftovers so I have lunches for a couples of days.)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 20, 2012
My mom showed me how to make this years ago. But we do not use sour cream, or cottage cheese. We use Cream cheese and butter no onion either. Try this one, you just might like it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Lorie Noecker
Home Town: Hamburg, New York, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 21, 2012
Delicious and super duper simple! I loved the flvor you got from the sauteed onions and the sour cream almost forms a light sauce over the noodles. This was great leftover, but I did add an additional scoop of cottage cheese into the mixture when I reheated it because a lot of it had soaked into the noodles after 2 days in the fridge (but the flavor was awesome after sitting in the fridge.)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 21, 2012
I decided to make this for my nephew instead of box mac and cheese that he loves oh so much, and it was a hit! Both he and I loved it and each had a second serving. I did cut back the calories by using the light butter, fat free sour cream, fat free cottage cheese, and whole wheat noodles, like another reviewer suggested. It was still delicious!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 16, 2012
Considering this has 7 ingredients, this recipe tasted pretty good. Easy to make and would be great for a quick dinner.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful
Reviewed: Oct. 7, 2012
Perfect recipe as is! I was looking for a recipe to make for a potluck that was quick and easy, and this worked perfectly as many are vegetarian! Thank you so much for sharing.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 30, 2012
This came together super quick making it a winner for a weeknight meal. I made it exactly as the recipe stated and it was delicious. I could see it being a fun base to use up some leftover goat cheese or chard ribs. The cottage cheese and sour cream really make it indulgent. And there's the butter too, which I highly recommend using as well. This is a keeper. Thanks for sharing.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 32) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Christmas Dinner
Christmas Dinner

Magnificent main dishes for your holiday table are here, from roast beef to a Christmas goose.

Christmas Appetizers
Christmas Appetizers

Dozens and dozens of appetizers perfect for the winter season.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

How to Make Four Cheese Pasta

Learn how to make a creamy four-cheese pasta sauce in less than 10 minutes.

How to Make Grilled Cheese Sandwiches

See how to make this classic diner sandwich.

Grandma's Polish Perogies

See how to make traditional potato and cheese-filled perogies.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States