Polish Noodles (Cottage Cheese and Noodles) Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Jun. 10, 2015
'Thought I'd like this, but it was a take-it-or-leave-it situation. 'Not bad, but nothing magic happened, as I thought it would. The flavor improved the next day so I'd up this a half star, if I could. In-a-pinch, I might just make it again. :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Rome, Georgia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 11, 2015
excellent!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by mary

Cooking Level: Expert

Reviewed: Feb. 17, 2015
Pretty good. Enjoyed the onion flavor. Would make it again for something different. Thanks for the recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 28, 2014
When I was a little girl, my (full-blooded Italian!) aunt introduced me to spaghetti w/ cottage cheese. I think that's all she put in it too; literally, pasta & cottage cheese (with a splash of the pasta water.) Years later, when I had a child of my own, I started making this for her (now adding butter/onion to give it more flavor.) Both ways -- just pasta/cottage cheese -- and then with the butter/onion -- were awesome (...but anything with some butta' is betta', ya know??) I forgot ALL about this "dish" then til recently when I was trying to use up leftover sour cream from Thanksgiving. And after doing a "google search" for ingredients, I fell upon this recipe ... making it yet again (now for TWO kids) :) - & with the sour cream this time, too. Wow! Loved it even MORE (and didn't think that was possible?!) I mean, you can't go wrong with the simple, basic versions -- but that blob of sour cream really adds somethin'. It helped everything come together as a 'sauce' almost, instead of just cheese curds & noodles. (I think this is what kept the picky-eatin' kid from realizing this was anything BUT "white mac 'n cheese." I know, I know ... it was a stretch, but he's 5 so he bought it). Yes! Win-win! Try it! I'm serious! It's not just for "cottage cheese-eaters." When warmed up ... and with the other ingredients ... the C.C. loses the texture/viscosity & appearance that some people can't seem to get into. I can see why "Lazy Man's Pierogies" are a great title for this one!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by MrsMarcyD

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Johnstown, Pennsylvania, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 25, 2014
I loved this recipe! I only made a couple changes. I added some garlic when I was sauteeing the onion. Then, because my pasta wasn't done yet, I thought I would add my cottage cheese to the onion in the skillet just to heat it up. Then, to my surprise, the cottage cheese melted into a smooth, creamy, cheesy sauce. Yum! I can't wait to try this again and add some sharp cheddar to make it more like macaroni and cheese and see what that's like. I also love the nutrition you get from all the protein in the cottage cheese! This is a keeper!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Reviewed: Nov. 22, 2014
Absolutely amazing !!!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Gracia Transom

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 8, 2014
Comfort food side dish...a taste of home (Babci).
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 20, 2014
Usually a picky eater, my husband loved it with sliced beets and green beans on the side. I added dried parsley in place of pepper because I can't eat pepper. My grandma used to make this and I thought she had just made it up. I was delighted to find the recipe online. The next time I make it I will add a few edamame beans for fiber and extra protein.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Andrea Lee Morgan

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 16, 2014
POLISH COMFORT FOOD! Made this for dinner tonight and my picky kids loved it. Grew up eating this weekly with my Polish/Russian Mom and my Irish Dad loved it, too. Works great with the heartier "Kluski" noodles or even frozen Reames egg noodles. We like it with the onion REALLY cooked -- golden brown or darker. YUM.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Beginning

Home Town: Washington, New Jersey, USA
Living In: Bloomington, Indiana, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 8, 2014
Tastes like Grandmas dish. She always added a good shake of dried dill and I did too. Delicious and a no bake dish! Thanks for sharing.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 36) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

French Toast
French Toast

French toast is such a perfect breakfast, light lunch, or even supper on these warm days.

Crisp Cucumber Salads
Crisp Cucumber Salads

Try one of our 100-plus cool cucumber salads.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

How to Make Four Cheese Pasta

Learn how to make a creamy four-cheese pasta sauce in less than 10 minutes.

How to Make Grilled Cheese Sandwiches

See how to make this classic diner sandwich.

Grandma's Polish Perogies

See how to make traditional potato and cheese-filled perogies.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States