Polish Mistakes Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: May 30, 2006
These were fantastic. Just like my grandma used to make! I also tried the previous crock pot idea for a carry-in. It worked well, but if I had to choose, into the oven they would go.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Logansport, Indiana, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 24, 2005
I used this as a main dish instead of an appetizer. I followed the recipe exactly, but served it over mashed potatoes instead of putting it on rye bread. It was sooo awesome. Will definitely be making this over and over again!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 24, 2003
Super recipe and so easy! My 6 year old daughter helped me make these for a party. We had so many compliments and requests for the recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 1, 2008
Great recipe, and perfect for make-ahead, like others suggested. I've made these for years, but tried italian sausage this time, and we love them even more. Make sure to place on low rack in oven!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by GolferGirl

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Columbia, Kentucky, USA
Living In: Bowling Green, Kentucky, USA
Reviewed: Dec. 19, 2007
Again, my family has been making these for years. I've introduced it to the in-laws and now they can't get enough. Velveeta is most definitely the way to go. Try spicing it up with hot sausage. I will usually double the sausage and leave out the ground beef. Either way, they never last and are among the first thing at a party to run out.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Erie, Pennsylvania, USA
Living In: Baltimore, Maryland, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 1, 2002
Polish Mistakes are a family favorite we have been making for YEARS! I can't believe I found them on here, I thought they were a family secret!! I make these frequently for appetizers usually around Christmas time and they are a HUGE hit. We, however do not use onion, instead we use basil, a pinch of fennel, onion powder, and garlic powder (TBS of each). I have never once heard the complaint that they are bland. Velveeta is the best cheese to use, i wouldn't substitute with store brand
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
36 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Lyndsay
Home Town: Atlanta, Georgia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 5, 2001
Awesome. My husband loved them just as a meal. We will definately be having this again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 9, 2004
These aren't at all healthy, but they're always a hit wherever I bring them!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by BRENDALEE2

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 2, 2005
We made this for one of our Christmas Eve snackies. It was a huge hit with my family. Thanks!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Anderson, Indiana, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 22, 2004
My family also made these for years at the holidays for big gatherings - lost the recipe and excited to find it here. Yes, you must add some garlic powder to it. Also, a friend of mine does a variation of this recipe by putting all of the ingredients in the crockpot (brown the meat first) and serving it warm with the bread on the side for people to serve themselves. She calls it Hanky Panky. Excellent.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Cicero, Indiana, USA
Living In: Brookville, Indiana, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 45) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Delightful Summer Parties
Delightful Summer Parties

All the little bites, cocktails, casual dishes, and desserts you want for your next get-together.

Banana Bread
Banana Bread

Bake those overripe bananas into a delicious, easy loaf of quick bread.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Grandma's Polish Perogies

See how to make traditional potato and cheese-filled perogies.

Swedish Meatballs

Learn how to make Swedish meatballs for appetizers or as a main dish.

Chef John's Ricotta Meatballs

See how to turn regular beef meatballs into a ricotta-filled sensation.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States