Polish Meat and Potatoes Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 4)
Reviewed: Oct. 23, 2011
This recipe gets 5 stars from me because it was delicious and quick and easy. I followed a few suggestions from others and of course cut down on the oil and used olive oil instead. I browned the kielbasa first, took it out and started cooking the potatoes. Then added the onions and peppers. I used paprika, garlic powder, salt and pepper. I didnt have onion powder so I just left it out. My 10 year old ate the whole thing and loved it and so did my husband! I could definitely see this recipe being used for breakfast or brunch to, just throw a fried egg on top and it would be fabulous. This is a keeper.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by DawnLeeW

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Hauppauge, New York, USA
Living In: Selden, New York, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 20, 2011
Delicious! Wonderful fall comfort dinner. We can't wait to make it again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 16, 2011
Easy to make.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 16, 2011
Good rustic food! We added a small amount of fresh hungarian wax peppers as in our area, hot peppers seem to be in everything like this. Liked the blend of colors and flavors. Also used low fat kielbassa, parboiled potatoes, and just a splash of olive oil as a substitute. Probably still a lot of saturated fat, but that should help balance it out.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 15, 2011
This was easy to make and tasted good, but not delicious.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Julie E.

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 11, 2011
Cooked this dinner for my husband and myself. It had a great flavor but was very heavy. I might try to cut back on the vegetable oil or try it with turkey sausage for a healthier option. The peppers that were in it were really unnoticed and not overpowering. Overall, everything tasted great and I would make it again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 11, 2011
This recipe is definitely a keeper, and the leftovers make a good scramble for breakfast, too. The only thing I would change is not putting the onions in until you put the bell peppers in because by the time everything was finished, my onions were burnt. Other than that it was delicious. Thanks for sharing!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Rexi

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Las Vegas, Nevada, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 10, 2011
My whole family loves this easy to make tasty dish. So good I shared it with a friend who says it is now a fave of theirs. I have a love of red bell peppers so I used one green and one red. Yummy. I was worried it would be dry but it was not. Definatley a new staple in the recipe box.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 9, 2011
This recipe is just "okay". Nothing really wrong with it, but nothing particularly special either. My family requested I not make it again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Tulsa, Oklahoma, USA
Living In: Macomb, Michigan, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 4, 2011
This was really tasty. I pan fried the Turkey Kielbasa in a tbls bacon fat and a little olive oil, removed kielbasa from pan, added a bit more olive oil and tossed in the onions, potatoes and green peppers. Cooked med-low for approx 15 mins then deglazed pan with a 1/2 c. dark ale covered and simmered another 10 mins. Quick & easy, very hearty and filling on a rainy fall evening. Mr.had a 2nd serving, will make again. Thanks for another keeper.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Falmouth, Maine, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 31-40 (of 169) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Celebrate Spring Salads
Celebrate Spring Salads

The most-tender new vegetables are here just in time for early spring salads!

Hearty Potato Soups
Hearty Potato Soups

Creamy, comforting potato soups will warm you up.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Grandma's Polish Perogies

See how to make traditional potato and cheese-filled perogies.

Smoked Sausage with Potatoes & Sauerkraut

See how to put a modern smoked sausage twist on a classic German dish.

Hasselback Potatoes

Swedish version of baked potatoes, this is the ultimate spud: tender and crisp.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States