Polish Meat and Potatoes Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 10)
Reviewed: Sep. 12, 2011
My husband loves this combination. Did not have enough Kielbasa, so I cut up a package of National Hebrew Beef Hot Dogs. Served with fresh cut tomatoes from the garden on the top.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by kathy
Home Town: Lesage, West Virginia, USA
Living In: Escondido, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 12, 2011
So delicious. I sliced my potatoes about 1/4 to 1/2 inch thick and leave the red skins on. I used an electric frying pan and used 1 teaspoon canola oil and about 1/2 cup water. I put the lid on and let it cook til Ican just stick a fork through. Then I added bell pepper and onion. Put the lid on and let cooked just a few minutes. THEN I threw the sausage on top. For seasoning I used cajun seasoning and a bit of soy sauce. We like for it to have some browned places on the potatoes so the last few minutes I take the lid off. Usually have some type crusty bread and green beans. Oh...and don't forget to put a little wine in it when you start the potatoes. Seasoned black pepper is good too. I sometimes use green onions.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 12, 2011
I have actually been doing a version of this for years, but it's a bit different. I put just a touch of olive oil (barely a tablespoon) and toss the potatoes in to get some good color on them. (Sometimes I will add 1 tbs. of butter just to thicken it up at this stage but it's definitely optional) Then I add the rest of the veggies and I use fresh garlic and diced onions and no garlic powder or onion powder. Then I add vegetable or chicken stock (whichever I have on hand) and let it cook low and slow until they absorb the broth. It gives it a different taste and is MUCH healthier than all that oil. I brown the kielbasa in a separate pan and then add it at the end. I also use red peppers in addition to green, and I use turkey kielbasa, which tastes just as good but is MUCH healthier!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 12, 2011
Anytime "Polish" is in the recipe name, it's not going to be lowfat and/or healthy. Not something you'd make every week, but sure is good on a cold night after shoveling your way into the house! Comfort food is not known as "healthy" food. Good Polish Girl!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 12, 2011
I use same ingredients, but add sliced carrots. I toss everything in a bowl add a little olive oil and sprinkle Italian seasonings over all and toss together. I put all in foillined pan, and close foil on top. Roast at 350 degrees for 45 minutes. Turn up the oven to 425 degrees, open foil and roast another 15 minutes.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 12, 2011
Classic dish of sausage and peppers. Try this for something similar, but better: Par-cook potatoes in microwave 'til slightly tender. Then, add everything to a large piece of heavy-duty foil. Instead of oil, dot with several pieces of healthy margarine (i.e. Promise or Smart Balance). Add 1 large fresh tomato, chopped and pour over all of this a cooking liquid of: low-sodium chicken broth mixed 50/50 with vermouth. (About 1/2 cup of liquid for 3 or 4 servings.) Seal up the foil pouch and place on outdoor grill on medium-high heat for about 20 minutes. Add 1/2# (for 3-4 svgs.) of frozen, cleaned, shell and tails-on large shrimp. Re-seal foil and cook about 7 minutes 'til shrimp are pink and cooked through and veggies are tender. Serve in bowls with liquid and sop up with some crusty french bread. Yummy...
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 12, 2011
This dish would be great if only real Polish Kielbasa was used instead of pre packaged Kielbasa sausage.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Professional

Reviewed: Sep. 12, 2011
For the people who thought it was unhealthy, just substitute turkey kielbasa (tastes exactly the same), and use 2 Tablespoons of canola oil. And if you're worried about salt, leave it out. Mine was definitely not greasy. It was delicious. Thanks for a great recipe, Chris!! I'll be making this frequently!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 12, 2011
growing up my family made this for dinner, with the addition of scrambled eggs in the mixture! YUM! Also a little hungarian pepper!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 12, 2011
I've noticed that several reviews have commented that 1/4 cup of oil is way too much.I agree.The kielbasa will also produce some fat/oil.I would use any kind of potatoes that I have at the time and I would wash them and leave them unpeeled.I would also put the peppers in at the same time as the onions and potatoes so they will soften a little.However,I do like my peppers and onions with a little crunch to them.I would possibly also add some cut up cabbage to this dish,not sauerkraut just raw cabbage.Of course dishes like this can have other items added such as diced carrots,one cup of whole kernel corn,as well as other items.I have made a variation of this by using sauerkraut instead of potatoes and leaving out the carrots and corn but keeping in the peppers and onions.This is a great dish,thanks for posting.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 91-100 (of 171) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Chicken On the Grill
Chicken On the Grill

Something about the grill's heat brings out the best flavor in the simplest chicken recipe.

Summer Desserts
Summer Desserts

We have over 700 dessert recipes just for summer fun.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Grandma's Polish Perogies

See how to make traditional potato and cheese-filled perogies.

Smoked Sausage with Potatoes & Sauerkraut

See how to put a modern smoked sausage twist on a classic German dish.

Hasselback Potatoes

Swedish version of baked potatoes, this is the ultimate spud: tender and crisp.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States