Polish Egg Bread Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Jul. 25, 2014
THIS RECIPE IS TO DIE FOR! I've baked this bread twice now and both times it's been a complete success. The friends and family I reluctantly shared it with all could not believe how incredibly rich and down right PERFECT a bread it really was. Here's a link to my blog post about it. I couldn't RESIST! Take a look :) http://breadbrained.wordpress.com/2014/07/24/polish-egg-bread-from-heaven-and-beyond/?
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 25, 2014
Excellent challah! Stays moist and delicious many days after baking. My Polish lady friends certainly enjoyed.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by belbaker

Cooking Level: Professional

Home Town: Minsk, Minsk, Belarus
Living In: Flagstaff, Arizona, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 23, 2010
My Greatgrand mother made this bread and I have been making it for many years.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 22, 2009
I have been wanting to try this recipe for several years. Theother day someone gave us a dozen farm fresh eggs and I needed to use them. I gave it 4 stars because 1. the directions don't say when to add the sugar (I did in the first step when prepping the yeast) and 2. It is a LARGE recipe, and when I say large, I mean industrial sized. I halved the recipe and thought the dough was taking over. But it made a very nice and tasty bread. My advice would be to halve the recipe and to it in two stages as I did. I am giving away as Christmas gifts and I kept a loaf for myself...beautiful presentation (I braided the bread as suggested in the recipe) and tastes great.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
20 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by dayna~rae

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Belton, Texas, USA
Photo by hellcatt
Reviewed: Dec. 16, 2009
the only problem with this recipie for people like me who dont bake bread very often is when are you supposed to add the sugar?
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
11 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 13, 2008
My husband lived in poland for a couple years and said they have the best bread he has ever tasted and even at polish restraunts here it cannot be duplicated. I thought I would give this a try anyhow because I love making fresh bread and it looked delish! I followed the recipe exactly (the dough is really monsterous in size) The results were wonderful. It makes 6 large braided loaves and luckily we had a lot of company that night and it all got eaten. My husband said it didn't taste like the polish bread he remembered but it was really good. It makes a lightly sweet bread. I loved it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
17 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Tracy, California, USA
Living In: Manteca, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 6, 2008
This is a Very large recipe I normally split it in half. but it is great bread!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
11 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Home Town: Taylor, Michigan, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog



 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Speedy Weeknight Meals
Speedy Weeknight Meals

We’ll help you get dinner on the table in no time flat.

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

How to Make No-Knead Beer Bread

Watch how to make a simple, rustic beer bread.

French Bread Rolls To Die For

See how to make simple French bread dinner rolls from scratch.

How to Make Ciabatta Bread

See how to make homemade no-knead Italian ciabatta bread.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States