Polish Dill Pickle Soup Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Oct. 31, 2006
Our favourite Polish restaurant serves pickle soup and we hoped this would be similar. WOOHOO! It was almost identical. I had homemade beef broth in the freezer so started with that and cooked diced carrots and pickles in it for 45 minutes, then added the potatoes, cooked till soft before adding the flour/milk. Yum-yum-yummy! My parents, who are not Polish loved it so much they took the leftovers home with them. I will be making this a lot!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
44 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Susanna

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Hamilton, Ontario, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 17, 2006
awesome! I used ground beef with fried mushrooms and onions. I also added some of the dill pickle juice to the soup and added whipping cream instead of flour and milk.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
30 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Reviewed: Dec. 18, 2000
Both my (Polish) Husband and I loved this soup!! It was good and easy.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
28 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 11, 2008
Very easy and quick to make. I added one thing, mostly because it's a main way I make soups. While boiling a large pot of water, I fried on med-heat 1 chopped onion and 2 chopped celery stalks until opaque (not browned). I added this mixture to the pot along with the diced carrots (I did not do mixed vegetables, just carrots). Of course, pickle juice was added and when the soup was completely finished, I stirred in a little bit of fresh chopped parsley. Excellent soup!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
20 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Julie
Reviewed: Sep. 25, 2008
more pickles
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
14 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Julie

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Frankenmuth, Michigan, USA
Living In: Ann Arbor, Michigan, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 28, 2010
This was a GREAT recipe! I folllowed the recipe as written except used 1/2 water and 1/2 beef boullion, my wife loved it! To make it a little more interesting I added mini meatballs made as follows. 1 lb 8% fat ground beef 1 egg 1/4 cup bread crumbs 1/4 cup mustard 1 medium onion diced mixed ingredients and made mini meatballs which I cooked in a little beeft broth then drained and browned. I placed 5-7 meatballs in each bowl and we LOVED it. It really gave the flavor of a great hamburger with mustard and onion surrounded by the great dill pickle taste...we will definitely do this one again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
13 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 19, 2010
Delicious! I made this with bought beef stock and at the end I omitted the milk, stirring in a little sour cream when serving instead. Highly recommended - I shall definitely be making this again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
12 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 29, 2009
Am making this for New Year's Eve dinner tomorrow and we are having company :) I'm brave. I've used chopped cabbage and a diced carrot for vegetables. I increased the water by 2 cups and the pickles to 3 cups over all. I also used a cup of pickle juice. Once its cooled I'll stir in lite sour cream instead of flour and milk. Its summer here in New Zealand and its going to be warm tomorrow so I thought a cold soup would be a nice starter. I'm also making Polish lasagna, cabbage stew in my crockpot and Polish desserts. Should be good. It already tastes good hot :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
11 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Miriam Hughes

Cooking Level: Expert

Reviewed: May 31, 2008
LOVED THIS SOUP!!!!!!!!!!! Make it a again...it's not too pickly. I was nervous to try it because it sounds gross, but it's delicious.I threw in whatever I had laying around the house including celery, carrots, corn, green beans, mushrooms, onions. This soup is the best and my Polish family loved it!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
11 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Krista Lynn

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 30, 2010
I add sour cream and milk to give a little different taste. You can use Vegeta soup starter for some extra flavor. Love this soup. My husband's family is Polish and they think it's authentic.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
10 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 14) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Top Dessert Recipes
Top Dessert Recipes

Rated, reviewed, and ready to satisfy your sweet cravings.

Best Party Recipes
Best Party Recipes

Essential eats, sips, and tips for your next gathering.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Sweet Russian Cabbage Soup

See how to make a simple cabbage soup with ground beef and veggies.

Ukrainian Red Borscht Soup

See how to make an authentic beet and sausage soup straight from the Ukraine.

Spicy Vietnamese Beef Noodle Soup

Chef John makes pho, the spicy Vietnamese noodle soup.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States