Polish Cream Cheese Coffee Cake Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Photo by Linda (LMT)
Reviewed: Nov. 4, 2012
Not only was this easy to make it tastes wonderful! I appreciate the simple and uncomplicated tastes of this coffee cake. The cream cheese filling is what this cake is all about. Not too sweet but satisfying and perfect with a cup of coffee. I made half the recipe in a round deep dish pie pan and cooked for almost 40 minutes. I wish though I had taken it out 5 minutes sooner because my sides and bottom were just a smidge too done. The toothpick test for this cake is "ify" because the filling is wet and if you cook it till the toothpick comes out clean in my opinion that is just a little too long. Next time I will take it out when I feel the top set in the center, the filling should still set up fine because the heat of the cake will continue to cook it. The dough is very sticky and I found if I layed the dough in blobs and then pushed the blobs into place and into each other that worked best. Hubby gave it 5 stars too! I did add more nuts just because I like them.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
20 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Linda (LMT)

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Fort Myers, Florida, USA
Reviewed: Dec. 4, 2012
This coffee cake is absolutely delicious! I did however; change one ingredient. Instead of using 2 packages of cream cheese, I substituted one package of the equal amt. of ricotta cheese. A little lighter than 2 packages of cream cheese. Definitely a keeper!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
21 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 26, 2013
Made this for Recipe Group - and, though I know I shouldn't, I tweaked it all over the place, in an attempt to "healthy-it-up" (= In the dough, I used 1/4 c butter, and 1/4 c coconut oil. I used 1/2 c sugar, and 1/4 c agave. I used 1 c non fat Greek yogurt in place of the sour cream. And I used 1 c all purpose flour and 2 c WW. In the filling, I used 8 oz Neufchatel cheese, and 1 c drained non fat Greek yogurt, and 1/4 c agave. In the topping, I split the 1/3 c flour, 1/2 and 1/2 all purpose and WW. This was good, and my co-workers gave me a favorable response, but I felt like I wanted it sweeter. I think next time, I will split the flour in the dough 1/2 and 1/2 - or use white whole wheat [the store did not have it )=]. And I will probably use an equal amount of agave, instead of cutting it back. [When I googled it, it said to use 1/2 - 2/3 the amount of agave that you would use sugar.] I also would just use all coconut oil in the dough, and maybe add some apple sauce . . . It was good this morning with my cup of tea (=
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by gammaray (=

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 16, 2012
Great recipe. Instead of sour cream in the cake batter, I substituted tofu sour cream once, and tofu cream cheese with some vinegar and cream once. Both versions were perfect. Been using Neufchatel cheese for the filling. Easy way to reduce the fat while still tasting rich and delicious. Thanks for this "keeper".
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Christina
Reviewed: Feb. 23, 2013
Made this for Recipe Group...DELICIOUS! Made this exactly as written, and it turned out wonderfully. The 'hardest' part was spreading the dough into the bottom of the pan, but that was easily helped along w/ my hand and some cooking spray. Very simple to make, and I liked the fact that it's not overly sweet, just right! This makes a nice, big cake, so it's enough to feed a crowd. This would even be great w/ some fruit preserves added to the middle as well (not that it needs it b/c it doesn't). A definite keeper~YUM! Thanks for sharing. :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Christina

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Pittsburgh, Pennsylvania, USA
Photo by AuntE
Reviewed: Feb. 26, 2013
Made for Recipe Group 2/22/13. Warm or cold this is wonderful. I split my batter into 2 8" cake pans. One I made as recipe states and one I added blueberries on top of cream cheese filling. Both fantastic. Yes the batter was thick but with a butter knife it spread no problem for bottom layer. I use WW Flour. Perhaps 35 min. would have been better. Topping stayed on nicely which is important to me.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by AuntE

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: East Lyme, Connecticut, USA
Living In: Lebanon, Connecticut, USA
Reviewed: Dec. 9, 2012
This coffee cake is moist and delicious. It tastes amazing fresh out of the oven or chilled, and even tastes good the next day. I cut the recipe down to 1/3 and baked it in a glass bread pan because I was only cooking breakfast for two and it worked out great. I will be making this for a crowd Christmas morning. Thank you for posting!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
13 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 19, 2012
Fantastic! Make this recipe as it reads and you'll be the "belle of the ball"! My family loved it, and I divided one recipe equally between 2 decorative Christmas 8" tins and gave to neighbors - who think I'm a genius. Highly recommend, very good crumb and cheese flavor.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by PammyC

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 31, 2012
SOOO Good ! Had trouble spreading the sticky dough. My husband gave a really good tip: spread and shape the dough between 2 sheets of wax paper. Use the wax paper to transfer the dough into baking dish, peel off the wax paper.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
21 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by patticakes43
Reviewed: Feb. 26, 2013
For Recipe Group 2/23/13 - This is one of the best cakes I've ever made. I don't bake often but when I do, I try to do it from scratch. I've had some epic failures but not with this coffee cake. The only sub was I used almonds instead of pecans. This cake baked up so fluffy and moist, which baffles me because of how sticky and flat it looked in the pan. And the stickiness would be my only complaint. It was hard to work the first layer of batter into the bottom of the pan. So, I knew there was no way I could spoon drop method top layer of batter. Luckily, I read that one of the other reviewer's hubby suggested using wax paper. I did and it worked, for the most part. Next time, I'll spray a little cooking spray on the paper first, so it can peel off easier. Definitely a keeper.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by patticakes43

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Boston, Massachusetts, USA

Displaying results 1-10 (of 43) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Christmas Appetizers
Christmas Appetizers

Dozens and dozens of appetizers perfect for the winter season.

The Season’s Best Sides
The Season’s Best Sides

Complete the meal with your favorite holiday side dishes.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Awesome Carrot Cake with Cream Cheese Frosting

This carrot cake is dense and delicious, a real crowd-pleaser.

Blueberry Sour Cream Coffee Cake

Blueberries, cinnamon-sugar, and pecans—wake up to a bite of the Big Yummy!

Dannon Blueberry Coffee Cake

Satisfy your sweet tooth with this nutritious idea.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States