Polish Cream Cheese Coffee Cake Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 4)
Photo by LYNNINMA
Reviewed: Mar. 19, 2013
This is a really delicious and moist coffee cake, but I was a little disappointed because the filling wasn't as soft and creamy as I thought it would be. I was hoping for something more like the Entenmann's cheese filled coffee cake. This filling is very dense and set. The big problem I had, like others, was getting that very sticky dough on the top (I used wet fingers to press and spread out the bottom layer, as suggested by others here). None the less, my family and I are enjoying it for breakfast this morning. Thank you SAXYBONE for sharing with us.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by LYNNINMA

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Worcester, Massachusetts, USA
Living In: Leicester, Massachusetts, USA
Photo by sassyoldlady
Reviewed: Mar. 15, 2013
Made for Recipe Group. We love cream cheese danish, this fits the bill nicely. Moist and crunchy! I patted the bottom layer out with wet fingers, spread the cheese layer over, and put the second batter part between wax paper and patted it out then laid over the top. Worked great with a little help from some wet hands to get it off the paper. Baked up nicely. Had it warm and cold. I liked it both ways. Thanks for the recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by sassyoldlady

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Toledo, Ohio, USA
Photo by menchito113
Reviewed: Mar. 6, 2013
This was simply amazing! did it as a birthday 'cake' for a friend who does not like cake. It was a huge hit! Saving in order to make again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by menchito113

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 5, 2013
The topping is the best part to me. Other half loved this, but I didn't care for the texture of the cake.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by catie

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 4, 2013
It was ok. 40 minutes was a hair too long for my oven. I think I would have liked more crumb topping. If I make it again I would double that part.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Sue Geving

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Seattle, Washington, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Molly
Reviewed: Mar. 2, 2013
Recipe Group Selection: 23, February 2013 ~ DELICIOUS! – We were helping friends move and I thought this would be the perfect breakfast snack. I guessed correctly, everyone loved it. I baked this in 2 round 8” cake pans rather than a 13 x 9 pan. By doing this, I made one pan with the pecans and one without. To help spread the first layer, I sprayed a disposable plastic glove with Pam® and it spread without any problems. I did not have two pkgs. of cream cheese on hand, so I use one package and 8 oz. of Ricotta cheese and it worked perfect. I baked this Friday morning and served it Saturday morning and it was nice and moist. I cannot wait to try this again when I have the 2 pkgs. of cream cheese. Thanks SAXYBONE for sharing your recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Molly

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Huntertown, Indiana, USA
Living In: Fort Wayne, Indiana, USA
Reviewed: Mar. 1, 2013
For the recipe group 2/23/13 - This is a great recipe. DS#2 came into the kitchen as it was just coming out of the oven. He could not wait until it cooled as the smell got to him. Said that the was fanastic and very light. Rest of the family agreed.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Nadine

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Oshawa, Ontario, Canada
Living In: Mississauga, Ontario, Canada
Photo by Shearone
Reviewed: Feb. 28, 2013
This was the Recipe Group selection for February 23, 2013. Overall, this is a delicious coffee cake - it is moist, buttery, crunchy yet not all that sweet tasting. I halved the recipe, lined a 7" x 11" pan with foil and sprayed with baking spray (should have used solid shortening). I had a really tough time getting the sticky first layer of dough to adhere because of the baking spray and wound up using an angled spatula to spread the sticky dough - worked like a charm. Since I had halved the recipe, I was to use 1/2 of an egg in the batter and filling but I used 2 whole eggs. I also added 1 teaspoon of pure almond extract to the filling. I baked for about 40 minutes, removed from oven, allowed to cool and lifted the cake out by the foil. The cake sliced and served beautifully. We liked it better warm. Thanks SAXYBONE for the recipe - it is a keeper.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful
Reviewed: Feb. 26, 2013
Made this for Recipe Group - and, though I know I shouldn't, I tweaked it all over the place, in an attempt to "healthy-it-up" (= In the dough, I used 1/4 c butter, and 1/4 c coconut oil. I used 1/2 c sugar, and 1/4 c agave. I used 1 c non fat Greek yogurt in place of the sour cream. And I used 1 c all purpose flour and 2 c WW. In the filling, I used 8 oz Neufchatel cheese, and 1 c drained non fat Greek yogurt, and 1/4 c agave. In the topping, I split the 1/3 c flour, 1/2 and 1/2 all purpose and WW. This was good, and my co-workers gave me a favorable response, but I felt like I wanted it sweeter. I think next time, I will split the flour in the dough 1/2 and 1/2 - or use white whole wheat [the store did not have it )=]. And I will probably use an equal amount of agave, instead of cutting it back. [When I googled it, it said to use 1/2 - 2/3 the amount of agave that you would use sugar.] I also would just use all coconut oil in the dough, and maybe add some apple sauce . . . It was good this morning with my cup of tea (=
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by gammaray (=

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by patticakes43
Reviewed: Feb. 26, 2013
For Recipe Group 2/23/13 - This is one of the best cakes I've ever made. I don't bake often but when I do, I try to do it from scratch. I've had some epic failures but not with this coffee cake. The only sub was I used almonds instead of pecans. This cake baked up so fluffy and moist, which baffles me because of how sticky and flat it looked in the pan. And the stickiness would be my only complaint. It was hard to work the first layer of batter into the bottom of the pan. So, I knew there was no way I could spoon drop method top layer of batter. Luckily, I read that one of the other reviewer's hubby suggested using wax paper. I did and it worked, for the most part. Next time, I'll spray a little cooking spray on the paper first, so it can peel off easier. Definitely a keeper.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by patticakes43

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Boston, Massachusetts, USA

Displaying results 31-40 (of 48) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Tart, Flavorful Rhubarb
Tart, Flavorful Rhubarb

Rhubarb adds its tangy flavor to everything from salsa to lemonade. Don't forget the pie.

Perfect Summer Smoothies
Perfect Summer Smoothies

Warm weather calls for a cold, fruity smoothie. Choose from over 400 refreshing recipes.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Awesome Carrot Cake with Cream Cheese Frosting

This carrot cake is dense and delicious, a real crowd-pleaser.

Cream Cheese Pound Cake III

A classic recipe for a cream cheese pound cake.

Blueberry Sour Cream Coffee Cake

Blueberries, cinnamon-sugar, and pecans—wake up to a bite of the Big Yummy!

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States