Polish Cream Cheese Coffee Cake Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 4)
Photo by Molly
Reviewed: Mar. 2, 2013
Recipe Group Selection: 23, February 2013 ~ DELICIOUS! – We were helping friends move and I thought this would be the perfect breakfast snack. I guessed correctly, everyone loved it. I baked this in 2 round 8” cake pans rather than a 13 x 9 pan. By doing this, I made one pan with the pecans and one without. To help spread the first layer, I sprayed a disposable plastic glove with Pam® and it spread without any problems. I did not have two pkgs. of cream cheese on hand, so I use one package and 8 oz. of Ricotta cheese and it worked perfect. I baked this Friday morning and served it Saturday morning and it was nice and moist. I cannot wait to try this again when I have the 2 pkgs. of cream cheese. Thanks SAXYBONE for sharing your recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Molly

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Huntertown, Indiana, USA
Living In: Fort Wayne, Indiana, USA
Reviewed: Mar. 1, 2013
For the recipe group 2/23/13 - This is a great recipe. DS#2 came into the kitchen as it was just coming out of the oven. He could not wait until it cooled as the smell got to him. Said that the was fanastic and very light. Rest of the family agreed.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Nadine

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Mississauga, Ontario, Canada
Photo by Shearone
Reviewed: Feb. 28, 2013
This was the Recipe Group selection for February 23, 2013. Overall, this is a delicious coffee cake - it is moist, buttery, crunchy yet not all that sweet tasting. I halved the recipe, lined a 7" x 11" pan with foil and sprayed with baking spray (should have used solid shortening). I had a really tough time getting the sticky first layer of dough to adhere because of the baking spray and wound up using an angled spatula to spread the sticky dough - worked like a charm. Since I had halved the recipe, I was to use 1/2 of an egg in the batter and filling but I used 2 whole eggs. I also added 1 teaspoon of pure almond extract to the filling. I baked for about 40 minutes, removed from oven, allowed to cool and lifted the cake out by the foil. The cake sliced and served beautifully. We liked it better warm. Thanks SAXYBONE for the recipe - it is a keeper.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful
Reviewed: Feb. 26, 2013
Made this for Recipe Group - and, though I know I shouldn't, I tweaked it all over the place, in an attempt to "healthy-it-up" (= In the dough, I used 1/4 c butter, and 1/4 c coconut oil. I used 1/2 c sugar, and 1/4 c agave. I used 1 c non fat Greek yogurt in place of the sour cream. And I used 1 c all purpose flour and 2 c WW. In the filling, I used 8 oz Neufchatel cheese, and 1 c drained non fat Greek yogurt, and 1/4 c agave. In the topping, I split the 1/3 c flour, 1/2 and 1/2 all purpose and WW. This was good, and my co-workers gave me a favorable response, but I felt like I wanted it sweeter. I think next time, I will split the flour in the dough 1/2 and 1/2 - or use white whole wheat [the store did not have it )=]. And I will probably use an equal amount of agave, instead of cutting it back. [When I googled it, it said to use 1/2 - 2/3 the amount of agave that you would use sugar.] I also would just use all coconut oil in the dough, and maybe add some apple sauce . . . It was good this morning with my cup of tea (=
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by gammaray (=

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by patticakes43
Reviewed: Feb. 26, 2013
For Recipe Group 2/23/13 - This is one of the best cakes I've ever made. I don't bake often but when I do, I try to do it from scratch. I've had some epic failures but not with this coffee cake. The only sub was I used almonds instead of pecans. This cake baked up so fluffy and moist, which baffles me because of how sticky and flat it looked in the pan. And the stickiness would be my only complaint. It was hard to work the first layer of batter into the bottom of the pan. So, I knew there was no way I could spoon drop method top layer of batter. Luckily, I read that one of the other reviewer's hubby suggested using wax paper. I did and it worked, for the most part. Next time, I'll spray a little cooking spray on the paper first, so it can peel off easier. Definitely a keeper.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by patticakes43

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Boston, Massachusetts, USA
Photo by AuntE
Reviewed: Feb. 26, 2013
Made for Recipe Group 2/22/13. Warm or cold this is wonderful. I split my batter into 2 8" cake pans. One I made as recipe states and one I added blueberries on top of cream cheese filling. Both fantastic. Yes the batter was thick but with a butter knife it spread no problem for bottom layer. I use WW Flour. Perhaps 35 min. would have been better. Topping stayed on nicely which is important to me.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by AuntE

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: East Lyme, Connecticut, USA
Living In: Lebanon, Connecticut, USA
Photo by Christina
Reviewed: Feb. 23, 2013
Made this for Recipe Group...DELICIOUS! Made this exactly as written, and it turned out wonderfully. The 'hardest' part was spreading the dough into the bottom of the pan, but that was easily helped along w/ my hand and some cooking spray. Very simple to make, and I liked the fact that it's not overly sweet, just right! This makes a nice, big cake, so it's enough to feed a crowd. This would even be great w/ some fruit preserves added to the middle as well (not that it needs it b/c it doesn't). A definite keeper~YUM! Thanks for sharing. :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Christina

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Pittsburgh, Pennsylvania, USA
Reviewed: Dec. 31, 2012
SOOO Good ! Had trouble spreading the sticky dough. My husband gave a really good tip: spread and shape the dough between 2 sheets of wax paper. Use the wax paper to transfer the dough into baking dish, peel off the wax paper.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
20 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 19, 2012
Fantastic! Make this recipe as it reads and you'll be the "belle of the ball"! My family loved it, and I divided one recipe equally between 2 decorative Christmas 8" tins and gave to neighbors - who think I'm a genius. Highly recommend, very good crumb and cheese flavor.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by PammyC

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 16, 2012
Great recipe. Instead of sour cream in the cake batter, I substituted tofu sour cream once, and tofu cream cheese with some vinegar and cream once. Both versions were perfect. Been using Neufchatel cheese for the filling. Easy way to reduce the fat while still tasting rich and delicious. Thanks for this "keeper".
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 31-40 (of 43) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

It’s Ghouls’ Night Out
It’s Ghouls’ Night Out

Get cute n’ creepy recipes to feed all your little monsters.

Allrecipes Cooking School
Allrecipes Cooking School

It’s everything you need to cook your best. Learn more about Allrecipes Cooking School.

Football Food for the Win
Football Food for the Win

All the game-day eats you need to crush the tailgate competition.

Related Videos

Awesome Carrot Cake with Cream Cheese Frosting

This carrot cake is dense and delicious, a real crowd-pleaser.

Blueberry Sour Cream Coffee Cake

Blueberries, cinnamon-sugar, and pecans—wake up to a bite of the Big Yummy!

Dannon Blueberry Coffee Cake

Satisfy your sweet tooth with this nutritious idea.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States