Polish Chicken and Dumplings Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Mar. 1, 2005
Note to reviewers and future recipe users: There are two kinds of dumplings - one is a heavy, dense pasta-like dumpling (like this recipe) and the other is a puffy biscuit-like dumpling. These dumplings are just as they are supposed to be for a dense dumpling!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
119 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 10, 2009
We invited my 98 year-old Polish/Hungarian great-grandmother for dinner to taste the dish on a cold, wintry New England night. She found the dish reminscient of the old country though she demanded we add a significant pinch of hot Csipos paprika to the broth. It made all the difference. Also, she refused to allow to add the can of cream of chicken. All said, the dish was an utmost success. She wept over memories of the old country as she ate the dumplings one by one. Thank you for this marvelous recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
82 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Clare Quilty

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: New Haven, Connecticut, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 17, 2008
Try this method. Reserve 2 Cups of broth for dumplings instead of water. Then roll out dough of floured board and cut strips 1" x 2" X 1/4 " and then dropping into simmering broth with the chicken.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
52 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 4, 2006
Good recipe, but my wife is right off the boat from Poland. They don't use olive oil or regular flour in their dumplings.. they use potato flour..these are supposed to be heavy potato flour dumplings. This recipe has been americanized but still pretty good.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
26 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 25, 2003
I used the recipe for the dumplings. I have my own recipe for the chicken and broth itself. (9/29/03: Simmered chicken with onion, carrot, celery, salt, and parsley.) But the dumplings!!! Wonderful! If you like dense dumplings, these are for you. My husband loved them and told me to make them like this everytime. Definitely a keeper.. Thanks!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
24 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 22, 2008
Freaking GOOD. The dumpling recipe is off the hook!! It says 1T salt and go for it, they are incredible.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
20 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Portland, Oregon, USA
Living In: Durham, Oregon, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 3, 2003
Excellent, just like my mom's dumplings. These are heavier than other dumplings.....just the way we like them. My mom never uses a recipe so I've struggled trying to replicate hers...Thank you so much.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
15 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 29, 2005
I only used the dumpling portion of the recipe in my usual recipe for homemade chicken soup and LOVED them. I added paprika and sour cream to my soup at the end since the dumplings reminded me of paprikas-no complaints at all. I did not find the dumplings too dense as others mentioned, I thought they ended up a great texture for soup. My entire family and sisters family loved it! Thanks for the recipe Linda!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
14 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 14, 2011
Just rating the dumplings. They are very easy and you do not need to be too precise. I use the broth from the chicken instead of water, and I skin the fat off the top of the broth and use that instead of olive oil. I scale the recipe down for two people and it makes enough for my husband and I to have dinner and lunch the next day. To make the base I just use onion, garlic, chicken, bay leaf, salt, and pepper. I do not use cream of anything soup.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
11 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: South New Berlin, New York, USA
Living In: Orlando, Florida, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 29, 2009
Instead of canned soup, carefully add in sour cream instead. Yummy, and Polske-true. I love saving a few kluski to fry with crispy bacon bits and scrambled eggs the following morning. Talk about a stick-to-the-ribs breakfast!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
10 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes
Home Town: Cleveland, Ohio, USA
Living In: Sinajana, Sinajana, Guam

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 114) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Do Healthy Your Way
Do Healthy Your Way

Low-fat, low-carb, paleo, vegan. Get recipes for your lifestyle.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

How to Make Chicken and Dumplings

See how to make classic, comforting chicken and dumplings.

Old-Fashioned Chicken and Slick Dumplings

Discover how to make Southern-style slick dumplings in comforting chicken soup.

Old Fashioned Chicken and Dumplings

See how to make simple, soul-satisfying chicken and dumplings.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States