Polish Chicken and Dumplings Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Jul. 18, 2002
I thought it was a TINY bit on the bland side, but, obviously, seasoning is all a matter of preference. I just added a litle bit of celery salt, and it was perfect:o)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
10 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by SPACEANGEL

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Sacramento, California, USA
Living In: Deridder, Louisiana, USA
Reviewed: Nov. 18, 2002
This recipe is absolutely outstanding.......
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by LDEGENFELDER

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 3, 2003
Excellent, just like my mom's dumplings. These are heavier than other dumplings.....just the way we like them. My mom never uses a recipe so I've struggled trying to replicate hers...Thank you so much.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
15 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 25, 2003
I used the recipe for the dumplings. I have my own recipe for the chicken and broth itself. (9/29/03: Simmered chicken with onion, carrot, celery, salt, and parsley.) But the dumplings!!! Wonderful! If you like dense dumplings, these are for you. My husband loved them and told me to make them like this everytime. Definitely a keeper.. Thanks!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
24 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 12, 2003
WOW! This dish was fabulous! It took a long time, but worth it. It was great as leftovers too.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 12, 2004
The chicken stock part of this recipe is excellent. I read the reviews and I understood dense since we prefer a rolled dumpling and they are dense too. But can we say lead-like lumps of sticky goo. They were filling all right. I'm still getting over them days later. Well, I'll stick to my Martha White dumplings but I really do like this stock so it was not an experiment that crashed and burned just not as good as I had hoped.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Dover, Tennessee, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 27, 2004
This was sooo good. Both of my kids (6yr and 3yr) ate them, so that says something. My 6yr old had seconds!!! He doesn't eat anything but peanut butter (no jelly) sandwhiches and cereal. This will become one of our regulars for sure!!! I used chicken breasts and they didn't take long to cook at all. I also used the spices I had so I had to switch a few things out.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Jenn_Smith

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 28, 2004
I have made this recipe twice, and the most delicious version was when I used a different recipe (Irish Chicken and Dumplings, by Claire)for the chicken and sauce and then added the dumplings/kluski from this recipe. In all fairness to Linda, I know that I made mistakes when I followed just her recipe. I used skinless, boneless chicken and filled my pot with water, but I'm pretty sure I used much less water than she did because the listed spice amounts were then beyond overwhelming. BUT, make these dumplings exactly the way she says to! They are wonderful and dense and will stick to your ribs the rest of the night! Just wonderful on a cold, snowy night!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 4, 2004
I truly disliked this dish. It seemed to be tasteless. I took that person's advice and added celery salt. It was still very tasteless. I'm not sure what it needs. I did give it two stars because the aroma is delightful and the texture of the dumplings is not bad at all.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 8, 2004
We were not thrilled with this recipe. I will stick to my own and continue with rolled dumplings. I do think a teaspoon of garlic and an extra can of soup might help.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Wilemon

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Afton, Virginia, USA
Living In: Larkspur, Colorado, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 114) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Want to Grill Tonight?
Want to Grill Tonight?

Check out time-saving recipes, because any night’s a good night to grill.

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

How to Make Chicken and Dumplings

See how to make classic, comforting chicken and dumplings.

Old-Fashioned Chicken and Slick Dumplings

Discover how to make Southern-style slick dumplings in comforting chicken soup.

Old Fashioned Chicken and Dumplings

See how to make simple, soul-satisfying chicken and dumplings.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States