Polish Chicken and Dumplings Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 6)
Reviewed: Oct. 3, 2010
This was awesome!! I reserved 2 cups of chicken stock for the dumplings and added frozen egg noddles.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Michael357

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 26, 2010
The broth in this soup was out-of-this-world. I made sure to copy down that part of the recipe in my physical cookbook so it would not get lost. The dumplings were another matter. My family and I love the heavy-style dumplings more than the fluffy bisquit-type, but these did not have a nice flavor. It was like eating flour balls. I used the 1T of salt, but there just was not much flavor. I dropped the dumpling dough into the broth in 1/2 t. amounts, so I would recommend doing even smaller amounts, perhaps 1/4 t. I saw where one reviewer recommended using chicken broth instead of water; that might do the trick right there. Try that when you make the dumplings. Again, the broth was amazing! That alone rated the four stars.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Home Town: Boulder, Colorado, USA
Living In: Austin, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 24, 2010
Thank you for an authentic chicken & dumpling recipe instead of one using canned biscuits!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 27, 2010
Ridiculously good. Polish husband raved. Omitted the "cream-of" soup both times I've made it. First time I followed suggestion to add sour cream instead, next time thickened with corn starch. Both worked well and were delicious.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by MamaK

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Melbourne, Florida, USA
Reviewed: Aug. 24, 2010
I have a different way of making dumplings, but I thought I would try this recipe. I'm not sure what happened, because I followed it to a T, but my mixture was soupy and the dumplings tasted a little floury. I would need to make a few adjustments before trying this recipe again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 23, 2010
This is now my family's new favorite recipe. I've never seen a dish disappear so fast from the table before. I made the full recipe and my family of 3 ate nearly all of it - there went my plan for leftovers! I do recommend halfing the dumpling recipe as I had enough dough leftover to add to the chicken noodle soup made the next day.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 17, 2010
Really yummy. My husband prefers dense dumplings but I usually make the fluffy kind so I made this for him and he loved it. I added carrots to the broth which I will do again in the future. Next time I will probably increase the seasonings as well. For the dumplings: a tbs of salt sounded like to much to me but I was wrong because I only used about 1/2 tbs and they were a little bland. I will definitely use the full amount next time
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Paris, Kentucky, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 28, 2010
I made chicken soup my usual way. Hubby wanted dumplings instead of noodles. I've never had dumplings. I found this recipe and added the spices in this recipe to my own soup and it was awesome. Anyway, I really just wanted this recipe for the dumplings. I made and tasted dumplings for the first time last night. DELICIOUS. I will never use noodles again. I made some dumplings big, some small and some just kind of drizzled because I wanted to see how I liked them best. I prefer smaller, but all good.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 30, 2010
Hits the spot! I used 2.5 lbs of chicken thighs instead of a whole chicken and added carrots, peas and celery. Didn't need the cream of chicken, just thickened the broth with a little cornstarch. Great comfort meal! The dumplings are delish...I just think I need a lesson in technique for "cutting" them off the spoon!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 9, 2010
Very, very good. I used whole chicken pieces and made my own poultry seasoning looking it up on the web. I also rolled my own dumplings by adding flour to the batter.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 51-60 (of 113) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Healthy and Delicious
Healthy and Delicious

New for spring! Good-for-you food you’ll love to eat.

Fresh Spring Recipes
Fresh Spring Recipes

The best ways to enjoy what’s in season right now.

Subscribe Today!
Subscribe Today!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

How to Make Chicken and Dumplings

See how to make classic, comforting chicken and dumplings.

Old-Fashioned Chicken and Slick Dumplings

Discover how to make Southern-style slick dumplings in comforting chicken soup.

Old Fashioned Chicken and Dumplings

See how to make simple, soul-satisfying chicken and dumplings.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States