Polish Chicken and Dumplings Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 5)
Reviewed: Jan. 19, 2011
I've made this recipe many times and my family loves it. However, the last time I made it I made a slight change which I think made it better. I put two boxes of chicken broth into the pot and then added filtered water to fill up my 71/2 quart pot to cook the chicken. It really is good. There's no need to alter the dumpling recipe it works every time. Great recipe: Thanks.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Roswell, Georgia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 17, 2011
This recipe made the exact dumplings I was looking for, but the soup did not suit our tastes. The allspice was overwhelming and even though I added homemade cream of chicken soup, it was still more thinner than I would have liked. Definitely edible and tasty, but not our favorite.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by mrs.embee

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Iowa City, Iowa, USA
Living In: Nashville, Tennessee, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 12, 2011
this is such a great recipe i have made it twice both times came out perfect. i did use a short cut i roasted my chicken in the oven while i made the dumplings, used a box stock, and added 2 cans cream of chicken soup...this will be a staple in my winter rotation! dont be afraid to make the dumplings they are easy and worth it..YUM thank you for sharing the recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Houston, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 27, 2010
Wonderful!!! I left out the cream of chicken soup, but used 2 cups of chicken broth (boullion cube) to make dumplings! fantastic!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 7, 2010
Wow, this soup was delicious! My husband said it was even better than his famous chicken noodle soup recipe. I've never made Chicken and Dumplings before, so I wasn't sure to expect and a little nervous about the dumplings. But, I thought homemade, noodle-like dumplings sounded much better than biscuit dough, and boy, were they! I followed the recipe exactly except for a few small changes, based on other reviews. I used chicken broth instead of water, for the dumplings, and I ended up adding almost an extra cup of flour to the dumplings. I had read that dumpling batter needs to be sticky, stickier than bread dough, even, but mine was very runny without the extra flour, and too difficult to cut into the soup. Even still, that was a bit messy and time consuming. But, very much worth it! The dumplings turned out so much better than I expected. Some of them were still too large, so I cut them in half in the pot after they cooked. I also added about a cup of sour cream to thicken up the soup even more. I was worried about it being overly seasoned at first, but it wasn't at all. The broth was very good, although I did a bit of celery salt, paprika and parsley. I think it's key to add enough water, so use a big pot and fill it up. And, do add the chicken after the dumplings have cooked, so there's more room in the pot. I reversed those, and I should have paid more attention. The dumpling mix makes a lot of dumplings, too many really. This was total comfort food. Excellent recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 28, 2010
I LOVED this recipe! The dumplings were exactly what I was looking for, and this recipe for broth is a lot more flavorful than the one I had been using. I added carrots to the broth and I might add a clove or two of garlic next time. I did omit the canned soup, although I think I might try it with it sometime to see the difference. I also used broth instead of water in the noodles - added a really nice flavor. I can't wait to have leftovers tomorrow!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Home Town: Cincinnati, Ohio, USA
Living In: Richmond, Virginia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by njmom
Reviewed: Nov. 28, 2010
Delicious!! i added some carrots and mushrooms. i did not use the canned soup, but thickened it with some flour/broth. i also added some sour cream to the end before serving. my DS loved it and he usually does not like his food all 'mixed' up together. it will be a joy to make this again and again. thanks for the post sloefinger!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by njmom

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Middletown, New Jersey, USA
Living In: Sayreville, New Jersey, USA
Reviewed: Nov. 27, 2010
This was amazing. I made it for just myself and froze 4 servings of it. It was gone in 2 weeks :-)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 26, 2010
I customized this recipe to use up some Thanksgiving leftovers. First, I made a stock with the leftover turkey, let it cool and skimmed off the fat. Then I added chopped carrots, onions, celery and used the same spices listed. Instead of using cream of chicken soup I heated up some leftover gravy with a little heavy cream and threw that in the pot. I made the dumplings as directed and found them a little too salty, but I hardly noticed when they were in the soup. Yummy!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 26, 2010
I have been eating chicken & dumplings for years, I LOVE the actual dumpling recipe. I have been making dumplings with bisquick, but I like this better, VERY flavorful! Gets better the next day when heated up too!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 41-50 (of 114) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Do Healthy Your Way
Do Healthy Your Way

Low-fat, low-carb, paleo, vegan. Get recipes for your lifestyle.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

How to Make Chicken and Dumplings

See how to make classic, comforting chicken and dumplings.

Old-Fashioned Chicken and Slick Dumplings

Discover how to make Southern-style slick dumplings in comforting chicken soup.

Old Fashioned Chicken and Dumplings

See how to make simple, soul-satisfying chicken and dumplings.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States