Polish Chicken and Dumplings Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 4)
Reviewed: Jul. 14, 2011
Just rating the dumplings. They are very easy and you do not need to be too precise. I use the broth from the chicken instead of water, and I skin the fat off the top of the broth and use that instead of olive oil. I scale the recipe down for two people and it makes enough for my husband and I to have dinner and lunch the next day. To make the base I just use onion, garlic, chicken, bay leaf, salt, and pepper. I do not use cream of anything soup.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
11 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: South New Berlin, New York, USA
Living In: Orlando, Florida, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 8, 2011
This was amazing!! I omitted the allspice, basil, season salt and cream of chicken soup though. I did use everything else and added a couple cubes of Knorr bouillon to the chicken while cooking. For the dumplings (per another reviewer) I used 2 cups reserved broth instead of the water but otherwise I followed exactly the flour and seasoning. Omg it is so delicious! The dumplings are tender and a little chewy (perfection), the chicken and soup was very flavorful and it thickened up nicely. My family LOVED this dish! My husband who normally doesn't eat alot of chicken (and hates dumplings) had several bowls lol and my three teenagers had multiply servings as well. Who can ask for more? :D This is definitely something I will make again and again. Thank you so much for sharing!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by MissNikki

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Reviewed: May 24, 2011
Even after I added extra seasoning to each level, this soup was very bland. The dumplings were too heavy and flourie.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 23, 2011
My mother made "Big Kluski" the way only Moms can. We (Children) have never been able to replicate her recipe. But this is as close as it gets! It takes some time to make, but believe me it is well worth it!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes
Home Town: Spring, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 25, 2011
the absolute best!!!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 14, 2011
Delicious dumplings! So much easier than rolling out dough. I didn't follow the recipe for the soup, but instead used 6 TBSP each of butter and flour to make a roux, then added water, chicken boullion powder, pepper, and a little onion powder. I cooked carrots, potatoes, and dumplings in this thick gravy-like broth, then added cooked, cubed chicken breasts. Total comfort food. Yummy!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by HeidiLS

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Reviewed: Feb. 24, 2011
5 stars for dumplings only...I have't tried the base recipe. These make heavy dumplings! Use dumpling portion of recipe for a heavier style dumpling for chicken soup. I would suggest these substitutions (as also noted by other reviewers? Substitute: Chicken Fat (from making homemade .................stock for Olive Oil Chicken Stock or Broth for Water My family loved these...I have been looking for a harder dumpling for my chicken stock. I gave this recipe 5 starts solely for the dumpling portion..
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 13, 2011
While I try lots of recipes from this site I don't usually write a review. In this case I had to do one. I used my own recipe for my standard chicken soup and added the can of cream of chicken soup for thickener. The star of the dish is the dumplings. I followed the recipe exactly except I used some fat from the broth instead of olive oil and they are spectacular! My husband's grandmother was Polish and his mom would always talk about her "halushki" - dumplings. I had too much batter for the amount of my chicken so I just cooked the rest in salted water and will use them as a side dish for another meal. Use the chicken fat in the dumplings - it adds a whole new dimension to them.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Lucia

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Bridgeport, Pennsylvania, USA
Living In: Lake Placid, Florida, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 27, 2011
i only gave four stars because i only used the dumpling part of the recipe, i have been looking for a good one and these turned out perfect, soft and chewy, just the way i like them. thank you very much for your recipe
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 27, 2011
I did not make the soup part. I only used the dumpling recipe for my chicken paprikash. LOVED, LOVED, LOVED the dumplings. The best!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 31-40 (of 114) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Do Healthy Your Way
Do Healthy Your Way

Low-fat, low-carb, paleo, vegan. Get recipes for your lifestyle.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

How to Make Chicken and Dumplings

See how to make classic, comforting chicken and dumplings.

Old-Fashioned Chicken and Slick Dumplings

Discover how to make Southern-style slick dumplings in comforting chicken soup.

Old Fashioned Chicken and Dumplings

See how to make simple, soul-satisfying chicken and dumplings.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States