Polish Chicken and Dumplings Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 3)
Reviewed: Aug. 12, 2012
This was really good, especially the next day when heated back up. The dumplings were a bit messy but worth it in the end.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 31, 2012
I need help on the dumplings. They were runny when I put them in the pot and it did not come out well. Maybe I should have added more flour??? The stew tasted great though.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Susan Holmes

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 6, 2012
It is a brilliant recipe. Now, I know it's kind of common sense, but needs to mention that you need to stir WHILE putting in the dumplings. When I made it, they all stuck to the bottom of the pot and became a mush. I was able to save it and give them shape. Just thought it needed to be mentioned. :] Still an awesome recipe. Will be using this from now on.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 6, 2012
Like many other users, I referenced the recipe primarily for the dumplings, and I have to say I was pleased. I did other things with my recipe that made the dumplings cook longer, but even after that (and sitting on the stove waiting for my husband) they never got water-logged or fell apart like most more "biscuit"-type dumplings. They were delightful in a recipe like this, and I look forward to trying them in other soups and stews.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Robin J. Sky

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Cleveland, Ohio, USA
Living In: Herndon, Virginia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 18, 2011
My family hated this recipe. As a matter of fact, they would not even eat because it was all they had...this does not happen often. I was so disappointed.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 29, 2011
I am only rating the dumplings as I was looking for a recipe similar to my Ukrainian grandmothers. I had already made a soup base from scratch but the dumplings were amazing! Had tried other versions (more like biscuits) and it was not what I was looking for. My kids each ate two bowls of the soup as they LOVED the dumplings. Will definalty make again and will try the soup next time I do a roast chicken.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Edmonton, Alberta, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 13, 2011
I really like how the dumplings turn out. I never get to make the broth the same way twice though because my family uses this as a one of those "in a pinch" recipes when we really really need to go shopping.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: York, Pennsylvania, USA
Living In: Valdosta, Georgia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 2, 2011
I am rating the dumplings here, as i make my own version of chicken soup, but the dumplings are AMAZING!!! One important note - the amount of dumplings to soup is way off. next time i will make 1/4 of the amount, it's simply way off in calculation. make sure you make tiny little dumplings, they are very hearty and dense, but i liked it that way.I also used butter instead of oil, and chicken stock instead of water, that might have improved the overall result. I will use this in my chicken soups now instead of any pasta / grain. My husband and father thought it was AMAZING, me too. Thank you so much for the recipe. will be making this again THIS same week, that good!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by earth_girl
Home Town: Palmyra, New York, USA
Living In: Greece, New York, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 3, 2011
These dumplings are great - just the way I like them (dense and heavy). My husband prefers these over noodles now in my chicken (formerly noodle - now dumpling) soup. He loves them. My only change was to add a little bit of paprika to the flour. Thanks!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Jessica

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Neenah, Wisconsin, USA
Living In: South Lyon, Michigan, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 28, 2011
This was really good. I followed the directions to a tee and it was delish! It took a while to make, but was definitely worth the wait. I made the dumplings about nickle sized and that worked out really well. There was a LOT of dumplings, though. If you don't like as many dumplings then I suggest halfing the recipe. I also added ramen noodles :o)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 21-30 (of 114) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Do Healthy Your Way
Do Healthy Your Way

Low-fat, low-carb, paleo, vegan. Get recipes for your lifestyle.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

How to Make Chicken and Dumplings

See how to make classic, comforting chicken and dumplings.

Old-Fashioned Chicken and Slick Dumplings

Discover how to make Southern-style slick dumplings in comforting chicken soup.

Old Fashioned Chicken and Dumplings

See how to make simple, soul-satisfying chicken and dumplings.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States