Polish Chicken and Dumplings Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 3)
Reviewed: Oct. 22, 2012
Perfect! I finally found the perfect dumpling recipe. I've tried recipe after recipe looking for a nice dense dumpling that isn't more like a biscuit. This is it. As for the soup, this one is really great too. I did make some changes as I never use canned soups, so I made a roux to thicken. And I added carrots and potatoes 10 minutes before adding the dumpling dough. I really liked the addition of the allspice and the basil, although not dried basil.. I also added some smoked paprika.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by SNOWGARDENER

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Watertown, New York, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 13, 2012
Very old world tasting and downright scrumptious!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Robin Lee

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Havelock, North Carolina, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 13, 2012
This was ok but just ok.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Sunset Hills, Missouri, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 12, 2012
This was really good, especially the next day when heated back up. The dumplings were a bit messy but worth it in the end.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 31, 2012
I need help on the dumplings. They were runny when I put them in the pot and it did not come out well. Maybe I should have added more flour??? The stew tasted great though.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Susan Holmes

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 6, 2012
It is a brilliant recipe. Now, I know it's kind of common sense, but needs to mention that you need to stir WHILE putting in the dumplings. When I made it, they all stuck to the bottom of the pot and became a mush. I was able to save it and give them shape. Just thought it needed to be mentioned. :] Still an awesome recipe. Will be using this from now on.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 6, 2012
Like many other users, I referenced the recipe primarily for the dumplings, and I have to say I was pleased. I did other things with my recipe that made the dumplings cook longer, but even after that (and sitting on the stove waiting for my husband) they never got water-logged or fell apart like most more "biscuit"-type dumplings. They were delightful in a recipe like this, and I look forward to trying them in other soups and stews.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Robin J. Sky

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Cleveland, Ohio, USA
Living In: Herndon, Virginia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 18, 2011
My family hated this recipe. As a matter of fact, they would not even eat because it was all they had...this does not happen often. I was so disappointed.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 29, 2011
I am only rating the dumplings as I was looking for a recipe similar to my Ukrainian grandmothers. I had already made a soup base from scratch but the dumplings were amazing! Had tried other versions (more like biscuits) and it was not what I was looking for. My kids each ate two bowls of the soup as they LOVED the dumplings. Will definalty make again and will try the soup next time I do a roast chicken.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Edmonton, Alberta, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 13, 2011
I really like how the dumplings turn out. I never get to make the broth the same way twice though because my family uses this as a one of those "in a pinch" recipes when we really really need to go shopping.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: York, Pennsylvania, USA
Living In: Valdosta, Georgia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 21-30 (of 117) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Crunchy Kale Snacks
Crunchy Kale Snacks

Kale is the healthy, green leaf that transforms into a crunchy snack chip in your oven.

So Many Pork Chop Recipes
So Many Pork Chop Recipes

You can't go wrong choosing from over 400 pork chop recipes with ratings and tips!

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

How to Make Chicken and Dumplings

See how to make classic, comforting chicken and dumplings.

Old Fashioned Chicken and Dumplings

See how to make simple, soul-satisfying chicken and dumplings.

Old-Fashioned Chicken and Slick Dumplings

Discover how to make Southern-style slick dumplings in comforting chicken soup.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States