Polish Chicken and Dumplings Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 2)
Reviewed: Jan. 5, 2014
I didn't realize this was a soup recipe and not just chicken and dumplings, but am glad I made that mistake on this very cold day. I made the recipe for the broth and chicken (using 1/2 tsp. ground allspice I had on hand) and added some paprika as a few reviewers suggested. The dumpling recipe is similar to the one my Mother-in-law gave me for hers that she cooks with Chicken Paprikash, but I did substitute the chicken broth from the pot for the 2 c. water and added some basil and parsley as suggested by some reviewers. I did not add cream of chicken soup or sour cream to broth. Next time I will cut back on the pepper and use vegetable oil instead of olive oil-the pepper and olive oil taste was overpowering the other spices and flavors I felt. I added some fresh diced carrots before dropping the dumplings in. I wish I would have made the full dumpling recipe-I halved it as one reviewer suggested and then had to add a bag of kluski noodles on hand since we aren't big broth people with our soups. I think next time I will stretch this to get two meals: 1) cook chicken breasts in slow cooker with the broth and use some of the broth for gravy to serve breasts with mashed potatoes, then leftover broth and chicken from that meal can be used later in week to make the soup with the dumplings by adding a carton of chicken broth. My husband's reaction: "Awesome!" and "Perfect for a cold day like today"(he said it twice). Thanks for a great recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 27, 2013
it was good.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Peter Racette

Cooking Level: Professional

Home Town: Ottawa, Ontario, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 5, 2013
I really like the ease of this.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Lisa

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Hinsdale, Illinois, USA
Living In: Princeton, Illinois, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 18, 2013
I did not care for this recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 31, 2013
These are really good. I thought I'd try to roll and cut the dumplings like another reviewer suggested, but the dough was too wet. Stick to the recipe, it's much easier and less mess.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 19, 2013
This is my favorite chicken and dumplings recipe! My mother in law requested it again for dinner tonight. I've made a handful of times and found ****the best way to work the dumplings**** is to put it all into a gallon baggie & cut off the corner. Then, while squeezing it out over the boiling broth, use a butter knife to cut of bits, dipping kninfe into broth when needed to slicken it back up (easiest when I can get my hubby to hold the bag and I work the knife - its really a snap that way). I cook them longer than called for. No cream soup, just thinken with cornstarch/milk mixture. Dumplings also turn out best when I use broth instead of water, vegetable oil (for some reason it tastes better), and add some poultry seasoning and parsley like another reviewer suggested.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 27, 2012
Just made my homemade chicken soup & added the dough as directed...rave reviews!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 7, 2012
Awesome dumplings!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Santa Fe, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 28, 2012
Very Good! Based on suggestions made in previous reviews, I used just enough water to cover the chicken. I followed the recipe to the letter except in the dumplings, I used two cups of the broth in place of the water. The house smells wonderful and the stew is delicious, just perfect for this chilly, windy wet autumn evening as we await the arrival of Hurricane Sandy.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 28, 2012
Was looking for a dumpling recipe....and wow did I find what I was looking for! these are incredible. I added 1 tsp dried basil and 1 tsp dried thyme. Will definately be my go to dumpling recipe now. thanks for sharing.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by shirlgirl5

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 11-20 (of 117) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Back To School Already?
Back To School Already?

Hard to believe, but many kids will be back in school at the end of the month. Get ready.

Cauliflower Recipes
Cauliflower Recipes

You won't believe all the things you can do with cauliflower. It's a great low-carb option.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

How to Make Chicken and Dumplings

See how to make classic, comforting chicken and dumplings.

Old Fashioned Chicken and Dumplings

See how to make simple, soul-satisfying chicken and dumplings.

Old-Fashioned Chicken and Slick Dumplings

Discover how to make Southern-style slick dumplings in comforting chicken soup.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States