Polish Chicken and Dumplings Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 11)
Reviewed: Oct. 11, 2006
The stock is very good, I did make some changes. I used legs as they were on sale, 1 can on cream of mushroom soup, 1 can of chicken broth ( reduced fat) 2 TBSP of roasted Garlic and rolled dumplings.. turned out fantastic! YUM.. My hubby who doesn't like chicken LOVED it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by linda

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 20, 2006
I normally stay away from any recipe that calls for a "cream of something" soup (yuck!) - But I braved this one and after a couple of slight changes it was exactly what I was looking for. I added some fresh garlic to the chicken as it was cooking and I thickened the broth with a small amount of cornstarch. The dumplings came out perfect! Everyone loved it!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 4, 2006
Good recipe, but my wife is right off the boat from Poland. They don't use olive oil or regular flour in their dumplings.. they use potato flour..these are supposed to be heavy potato flour dumplings. This recipe has been americanized but still pretty good.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
28 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 12, 2006
This recipe was not quite what I was hoping for. I was really looking for a more creamy version; perhaps my fault - I should have analyzed the ingredients more. The end result was tasty, but not fabulous. I probably would not make this again considered the amount of effort it takes.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 1, 2005
Note to reviewers and future recipe users: There are two kinds of dumplings - one is a heavy, dense pasta-like dumpling (like this recipe) and the other is a puffy biscuit-like dumpling. These dumplings are just as they are supposed to be for a dense dumpling!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
126 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 29, 2005
I only used the dumpling portion of the recipe in my usual recipe for homemade chicken soup and LOVED them. I added paprika and sour cream to my soup at the end since the dumplings reminded me of paprikas-no complaints at all. I did not find the dumplings too dense as others mentioned, I thought they ended up a great texture for soup. My entire family and sisters family loved it! Thanks for the recipe Linda!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
14 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 22, 2004
i just used the dumpling recipe as i already had my own chicken recipe. i thought the dumplings were wayyyyyyyy to dense...and no flavor. i'll stick with bisquick next time.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 8, 2004
We were not thrilled with this recipe. I will stick to my own and continue with rolled dumplings. I do think a teaspoon of garlic and an extra can of soup might help.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Wilemon

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Afton, Virginia, USA
Living In: Larkspur, Colorado, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 4, 2004
I truly disliked this dish. It seemed to be tasteless. I took that person's advice and added celery salt. It was still very tasteless. I'm not sure what it needs. I did give it two stars because the aroma is delightful and the texture of the dumplings is not bad at all.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 28, 2004
I have made this recipe twice, and the most delicious version was when I used a different recipe (Irish Chicken and Dumplings, by Claire)for the chicken and sauce and then added the dumplings/kluski from this recipe. In all fairness to Linda, I know that I made mistakes when I followed just her recipe. I used skinless, boneless chicken and filled my pot with water, but I'm pretty sure I used much less water than she did because the listed spice amounts were then beyond overwhelming. BUT, make these dumplings exactly the way she says to! They are wonderful and dense and will stick to your ribs the rest of the night! Just wonderful on a cold, snowy night!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 101-110 (of 117) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Grilled Burgers For the 4th
Grilled Burgers For the 4th

Check out our collection of almost 200 grilled burger recipes.

Potato Salad On the Side
Potato Salad On the Side

A cookout isn't complete without a big bowl of potato salad. We have hundreds for you.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

How to Make Chicken and Dumplings

See how to make classic, comforting chicken and dumplings.

Old Fashioned Chicken and Dumplings

See how to make simple, soul-satisfying chicken and dumplings.

Old-Fashioned Chicken and Slick Dumplings

Discover how to make Southern-style slick dumplings in comforting chicken soup.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States