Polish Chicken and Dumplings Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 10)
Reviewed: May 2, 2008
Mmmm... Like alot of other people, I used this for the dumpling recipe and I really like it. The texture is similar to Cracker Barrel-style dumplings, nice and heavy. I shrunk the recipe down to 1/4 because I knew it would otherwise make waaay too much for my pot. The proportions were this: 1 egg, 1 1/2t oil, 3/4t salt, 1/4t pepper, 1/2c water, and 1c flour. Like others I found it soupy so I added a bit less than a 1/4c extra flour and that helped firm it up. You don't need it really firm, just enough to hold together when you drop them in. I think next time I'll cut the water to 1/3c and see if that thickens it up enough. I just used the side of my wooden spoon to scoop off a thin ribbon of dough and drop (shake!) it in. Definitely aim for really thin ribbons because they plump up alot and then have trouble cooking all the way through. I still had a little dough left over (glad I cut the recipe so small!)but that may be remedied when I reduce the water. All-in-all, a very good dumpling recipe I will be using frequently!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by GottaFeedYa!

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Bloomingdale, Ohio, USA
Living In: Steubenville, Ohio, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 29, 2008
This was good overall. I did not care for the dumplings too much. I realize that they are supposed to be heavy and dense but for my taste I will substitute buttermilk baking mix dumplings next time. I also added some carrots and potatoes. My kids and husband liked it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 29, 2008
Wonderful! So glad I came across this recipe. I was looking for a more dense dumpling and this is it. I don't have a lot of time to cook with my schedual so I changed a few things. I brought 4 cans of Swansons chicken broth to a boil and added the can of cream of chicken and 1/2 can of cream of celery along with the suggested seasonings (I omitted the allspice). I then added 4 (small) chicken breast and removed after they were cooked through (about 25 min). I prepared the dumplings as suggested but found that they were to sticky to cut off of a spoon so I ended up using 2 small spoons, one to scoop about the amount of a tablespoon and pushed it off into the boiling broth using the other spoon. I boiled them for the 15 min. then returned the chicken to the pot (diced of course). Yeah, lots of detail, but it's what worked for me.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 14, 2008
I have been looking for a dumpling recipe to compliment my chicken stew and have finally found it!! Excellent flavor, excellent texture. I loved this recipe and so did my husband. He told me to stick to this one. Loved it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 6, 2008
The dumplings were awesome.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 9, 2007
The dumplings were a disaster! I followed the recipe. I thought the mix would be stiff, almost like cookie dough, but it was goopy so I kept adding more flour. Then I put them in the broth and even after being in there 10-15 minutes they came out as raw dough goo blobs. Not good. The chicken seasoning was good, though. That's why I gave it 2 stars.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 7, 2007
Good recipe. My children loved this....my son had thirds, and my daughter had seconds. My boyfriend had four bowlfuls! I will make this again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Faith LaBarbera

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Rochester, New York, USA
Living In: Webster, New York, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 15, 2006
As I saw in previous reviews, these are the heavier of the two types of dumplings, but this is the best recipe I have found after losing the one my mother gave me. If you want lighter, experiment a little. If you understand baking, apply it to this recipe and you can make a fluffy light dumpling. You want more or different flavoring, hit the spice rack. When my friends and family ask how I make them so food, I just say allrecipes.com, I just don't tell them which recipe it is.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 11, 2006
The stock is very good, I did make some changes. I used legs as they were on sale, 1 can on cream of mushroom soup, 1 can of chicken broth ( reduced fat) 2 TBSP of roasted Garlic and rolled dumplings.. turned out fantastic! YUM.. My hubby who doesn't like chicken LOVED it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by linda

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 20, 2006
I normally stay away from any recipe that calls for a "cream of something" soup (yuck!) - But I braved this one and after a couple of slight changes it was exactly what I was looking for. I added some fresh garlic to the chicken as it was cooking and I thickened the broth with a small amount of cornstarch. The dumplings came out perfect! Everyone loved it!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 91-100 (of 115) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Christmas Dinner
Christmas Dinner

Magnificent main dishes for your holiday table are here, from roast beef to a Christmas goose.

Christmas Appetizers
Christmas Appetizers

Dozens and dozens of appetizers perfect for the winter season.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

How to Make Chicken and Dumplings

See how to make classic, comforting chicken and dumplings.

Old Fashioned Chicken and Dumplings

See how to make simple, soul-satisfying chicken and dumplings.

Old-Fashioned Chicken and Slick Dumplings

Discover how to make Southern-style slick dumplings in comforting chicken soup.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States