Polish Chicken and Dumplings Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 10)
Reviewed: Aug. 4, 2008
Feeds an army and it's delicious!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 4, 2008
My grandfather has always made these dumplings- I love them. They are supposed to be a little smaller than a lighter, and dense- these are NOT bread dumplings, they are egg dumplings. Boil the water. After mixing the dumpling dough, put the mound of dough on a cutting board. Over the boiling water, cut pieces of the dough off the mound and drop into the boiling water- the dumplings will float when they are done. They will expand in the boiling water, but the end size you're striving for is about the size of a lighter.. Left over dumplings are delish in cottage cheese as well- sounds weird, but it's a family tradition. =)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Romeoville, Illinois, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 2, 2008
Mmmm... Like alot of other people, I used this for the dumpling recipe and I really like it. The texture is similar to Cracker Barrel-style dumplings, nice and heavy. I shrunk the recipe down to 1/4 because I knew it would otherwise make waaay too much for my pot. The proportions were this: 1 egg, 1 1/2t oil, 3/4t salt, 1/4t pepper, 1/2c water, and 1c flour. Like others I found it soupy so I added a bit less than a 1/4c extra flour and that helped firm it up. You don't need it really firm, just enough to hold together when you drop them in. I think next time I'll cut the water to 1/3c and see if that thickens it up enough. I just used the side of my wooden spoon to scoop off a thin ribbon of dough and drop (shake!) it in. Definitely aim for really thin ribbons because they plump up alot and then have trouble cooking all the way through. I still had a little dough left over (glad I cut the recipe so small!)but that may be remedied when I reduce the water. All-in-all, a very good dumpling recipe I will be using frequently!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by GottaFeedYa!

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Bloomingdale, Ohio, USA
Living In: Steubenville, Ohio, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 29, 2008
This was good overall. I did not care for the dumplings too much. I realize that they are supposed to be heavy and dense but for my taste I will substitute buttermilk baking mix dumplings next time. I also added some carrots and potatoes. My kids and husband liked it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 29, 2008
Wonderful! So glad I came across this recipe. I was looking for a more dense dumpling and this is it. I don't have a lot of time to cook with my schedual so I changed a few things. I brought 4 cans of Swansons chicken broth to a boil and added the can of cream of chicken and 1/2 can of cream of celery along with the suggested seasonings (I omitted the allspice). I then added 4 (small) chicken breast and removed after they were cooked through (about 25 min). I prepared the dumplings as suggested but found that they were to sticky to cut off of a spoon so I ended up using 2 small spoons, one to scoop about the amount of a tablespoon and pushed it off into the boiling broth using the other spoon. I boiled them for the 15 min. then returned the chicken to the pot (diced of course). Yeah, lots of detail, but it's what worked for me.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 14, 2008
I have been looking for a dumpling recipe to compliment my chicken stew and have finally found it!! Excellent flavor, excellent texture. I loved this recipe and so did my husband. He told me to stick to this one. Loved it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 6, 2008
The dumplings were awesome.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 9, 2007
The dumplings were a disaster! I followed the recipe. I thought the mix would be stiff, almost like cookie dough, but it was goopy so I kept adding more flour. Then I put them in the broth and even after being in there 10-15 minutes they came out as raw dough goo blobs. Not good. The chicken seasoning was good, though. That's why I gave it 2 stars.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 7, 2007
Good recipe. My children loved this....my son had thirds, and my daughter had seconds. My boyfriend had four bowlfuls! I will make this again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Faith LaBarbera

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Rochester, New York, USA
Living In: Webster, New York, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 15, 2006
As I saw in previous reviews, these are the heavier of the two types of dumplings, but this is the best recipe I have found after losing the one my mother gave me. If you want lighter, experiment a little. If you understand baking, apply it to this recipe and you can make a fluffy light dumpling. You want more or different flavoring, hit the spice rack. When my friends and family ask how I make them so food, I just say allrecipes.com, I just don't tell them which recipe it is.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 91-100 (of 117) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Chicken On the Grill
Chicken On the Grill

Something about the grill's heat brings out the best flavor in the simplest chicken recipe.

Summer Desserts
Summer Desserts

We have over 700 dessert recipes just for summer fun.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

How to Make Chicken and Dumplings

See how to make classic, comforting chicken and dumplings.

Old Fashioned Chicken and Dumplings

See how to make simple, soul-satisfying chicken and dumplings.

Old-Fashioned Chicken and Slick Dumplings

Discover how to make Southern-style slick dumplings in comforting chicken soup.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States