Polish Chicken and Dumplings Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Jul. 24, 2014
What I did, when I strained the broth I re-used the bowl to make the dumplings. Just delightful!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Mrs Kris
Home Town: Middlesex, New Jersey, USA
Living In: Dunellen, New Jersey, USA
Reviewed: Apr. 1, 2014
Added chicken bullion and potato and carrots. Also used broth for dumplings instead of water as others suggested. LOVE this recipe!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 26, 2014
The only thing I changed was I didn't use cream of chicken soup! But other than that it was delicious, my kids and my husband love it, very seldom do we have leftovers!!! I definitely recommend it to any family that grew up eating this! My Slovak Grandma would be very proud!!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by mrsweems

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Homestead, Pennsylvania, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 12, 2014
I just made the dumplings and cooked them in chicken broth. They were superb! Tasted like Cracker Barrel's chicken and dumplings. Yum!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 3, 2014
We liked this, but I did replace the water and added the seasonings again after simmering the chicken to reduce the grease. I added carrots, garlic, some paprika and a little cayenne pepper.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 1, 2014
Just finished this recipe and am pleasantly surprised. I wanted my grandmother's recipe but it was lost. This chicken and dumpling recipe reminds me of how Granny's tasted. Will make many times over. Fantastic!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 19, 2014
FANTABULOUS! This is the most requested recipe by my teenage boys. I have made this WEEKLY for the last two months if you can believe that. First, I am a vegetable smuggler-- trying in any way, shape, or form to add/hide veggies in meals. In this recipe, I GRATE 8 carrots (cheese grater), use both finely chopped white onion (1) & green onions (4 or so). I increase the celery to 4 of the leafiest stalks (again finely chop-- leaves and all to wear they are nearly minced!). I boil the chicken adding 6 boullion cubes, and all the seasonings. I remove the chicken, then add all of my minced & grated veggies. I use the broth to make the dumplings, but increase the dumpling recipe using 3 cups broth, 5 cups flour...etc. I add a box of chicken stock to the broth, bring to a low boil, and drop my dumplings in. My daughter helps me at this point, as the veggies rise to the top creating a dumpling drop nightmare. She pushes the veggies aside creating a hole for the dumplings; or where the veggies net them she stirs them down. Once dumplings are all dropped, I add back in the chopped up chicken, add in a few tosses of Franks Red Hot, a little cayenne, lots of paprika, and I end up with a large stock pot filled to the brim with chicken and dumplings. We prefer ours thick, which will happen after a few hours after making. Sometimes I pull out broth and reserve until day 2, to slightly thin to the perfect consistency. An entire huge stock-pot lasts 2 days in my house! WONDERFUL RECIPE!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 5, 2014
I didn't realize this was a soup recipe and not just chicken and dumplings, but am glad I made that mistake on this very cold day. I made the recipe for the broth and chicken (using 1/2 tsp. ground allspice I had on hand) and added some paprika as a few reviewers suggested. The dumpling recipe is similar to the one my Mother-in-law gave me for hers that she cooks with Chicken Paprikash, but I did substitute the chicken broth from the pot for the 2 c. water and added some basil and parsley as suggested by some reviewers. I did not add cream of chicken soup or sour cream to broth. Next time I will cut back on the pepper and use vegetable oil instead of olive oil-the pepper and olive oil taste was overpowering the other spices and flavors I felt. I added some fresh diced carrots before dropping the dumplings in. I wish I would have made the full dumpling recipe-I halved it as one reviewer suggested and then had to add a bag of kluski noodles on hand since we aren't big broth people with our soups. I think next time I will stretch this to get two meals: 1) cook chicken breasts in slow cooker with the broth and use some of the broth for gravy to serve breasts with mashed potatoes, then leftover broth and chicken from that meal can be used later in week to make the soup with the dumplings by adding a carton of chicken broth. My husband's reaction: "Awesome!" and "Perfect for a cold day like today"(he said it twice). Thanks for a great recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 27, 2013
it was good.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by ChefBaker

Cooking Level: Professional

Home Town: Ottawa, Ontario, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 5, 2013
I really like the ease of this.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Lisa

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Hinsdale, Illinois, USA
Living In: Princeton, Illinois, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 114) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Want to Grill Tonight?
Want to Grill Tonight?

Check out time-saving recipes, because any night’s a good night to grill.

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

How to Make Chicken and Dumplings

See how to make classic, comforting chicken and dumplings.

Old-Fashioned Chicken and Slick Dumplings

Discover how to make Southern-style slick dumplings in comforting chicken soup.

Old Fashioned Chicken and Dumplings

See how to make simple, soul-satisfying chicken and dumplings.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States