Polish Cabbage Noodles Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 7)
Reviewed: Aug. 21, 2009
Surprisingly yummy for such a simple dish! Based on others' reviews, I omitted the onion, added a little bit of sugar and chicken bullion to the cabbage as it cooked, and sautéed it with the noodles briefly at the end. I even used about half red cabbage and it came out mild and great! I'll be making this again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 16, 2009
My mother used to make a dish similar to this, but used less onion. She also used leftover bacon grease to give it more flavor instead of the butter(a few tablespoons is more than enough). That also may have come from her Depression Era upbringing. Either way it's a quick, inexpensive side dish.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Pittsburgh, Pennsylvania, USA
Living In: Phoenix, Arizona, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 13, 2009
Very nice change of pace from buttered noodles. Got to use up my cabbage and onions I had in the fridge. I added a sprinkle of caraway seeds before serving. Thanks for sharing!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Bubby

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Chicago, Illinois, USA
Living In: Lake Geneva, Wisconsin, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 9, 2009
Very Good dish!! I will be making this all the time now. I used Bow Tie pasta in place of the egg noodles.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by IRISHGINA74

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Cleveland, Ohio, USA
Living In: Parma, Ohio, USA
Reviewed: May 28, 2009
Simply good. Added polish sausage as suggested in photo, turned out great.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 29, 2009
Loved the cabbage and onions, the texture with the noodles was a little bit different for me and hubby. We ended up eating all the cabbage and only half the noodles:) Served this with chicken apple sausages but it would have been fine without.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 19, 2009
This was okay. It was one of those dishes that are really good the first couple of bites than you get tired of it really fast. I don't think I will be making this one again. Sorry
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Bolingbrook, Illinois, USA
Living In: Sunnyvale, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 14, 2009
simple good food, that feeds many for cheap and keeps long red onions are often too hot for this recipe so use a large sweet onion instead and slow cook it before adding the cabbage in oil only or oil and butter low heat until it carmelizes, this will make the entire dish more sweet tasting
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 10, 2009
It's a good start for a side dish but through the years I have been making this I have tweaked it to give it more flavor and satisfy my family. I add sauteed onions and a small amount of sauerkraut; not enough to mask the other tasted, but juts enough to give it a little kick. The amount you add depends on how much you like onions and sauerkraut but for a whole small head of cabbage and a 1/2 pound of noodles i added 1/2 to 2/3 C of sauerkraut and one medium onion. Just a "to your taste" thing.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Debbie

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Palmerton, Pennsylvania, USA
Living In: Wilmington, Delaware, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 8, 2009
I thought these were great. Nice change for a side dish. We all liked the taste.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by MANDDREED

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Akron, Ohio, USA
Living In: Norton, Ohio, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 61-70 (of 170) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Hop On Easter
Hop On Easter

Recipes for baked ham, deviled eggs, and oh-so-cute treats.

Fresh Spring Recipes
Fresh Spring Recipes

The best ways to enjoy what’s in season right now.

Subscribe Today!
Subscribe Today!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $9.99!

Related Videos

Braised Chicken Apple Sausages and Cabbage

See how to make a simple and comforting one-pot meal.

How to Make Corned Beef and Cabbage

See how to make the official meal of St. Patrick’s Day.

How to Cook Corned Beef and Cabbage

Watch how to make this traditional St. Patrick’s Day dish.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States