Polish Cabbage Noodles Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 6)
Reviewed: Feb. 14, 2010
Very Tasty, used sweet onion and Garlic salt and also added bacon. Fantastic.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by bigojo

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 7, 2010
This is a family favorite. To save time, I used 1/2 to 3/4 a bag of shredded cabbage/carrots and only used 1/2 of a red onion since my family doesn't like onions very much. For another dimension of flavor, I cooked 4-5 pieces of bacon (then set aside), drained all but one Tbls of fat and sauteed the cabbage and onion in the bacon fat with just a tsp of butter. Then I added Hillshire Farm Sausage that I sliced, cooked and drained, the cooked noodles, and half a can of chicken broth. I let it all simmer for about 5-7 minutes. Then I added about 2-3 Tbls of sour cream to the dish, mixed it all together and seasoned to taste with salt and pepper. I crumbled the pieces of bacon and sprinkled over the top of the dish. Serve with a salad and you have a great meal.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by CLARINET

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: East Meadow, New York, USA
Living In: Belleville, Illinois, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 28, 2010
it was ok don't know if i will make again
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Home Town: Crownsville, Maryland, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 24, 2010
I really liked this. I made exactly as the recipe said. Hubby and I thought it was good. Definitely needs the sausage though or else it's more of a side dish. I followed another reviewer's suggestion and made it with the sweet Polish sausage from this site. Very tasty!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by GSWOODY

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: South Bend, Indiana, USA
Living In: Pittsboro, Indiana, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 2, 2010
I always LOVE cabbage & noodles. This was basically my recipe but I don't like onions, so substitute onion powder or salt for the flavor. The longer it cooks, the better it tastes!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Patti

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Indianapolis, Indiana, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 30, 2009
i thought this was good but the way my grandma makes it she adds garlic and fries up polish keilbasa and mixes that in and also uses yellow onion instead of red.....one of my favorite dinners of all time. Everyone ive made this for LOVES it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Cleveland, Ohio, USA
Living In: Chesterfield, Michigan, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 24, 2009
Pretty good. Next time I would not use so much onion. Maybe only one and a sweet, yellow. Red onions have a VERY strong flavor and smell. My kitchen and living room still smell like cooked onions the next day. This pairs very well with the Sweet Polish Sausage recipe found on this site.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 24, 2009
love this dish! so good ... quick and easy and makes a ton!! we rarely have leftovers, but we'll prob get 2-3 meals out of this easy!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 12, 2009
this was yum! cut butter to 1/4 cup, used 12 oz package of noodles. later that night, mixed some leftovers with thai-style peanut sauce, soy sauce, and leftover steamed greens--instant asian! the recipe was so neutral, it could be made over for leftovers in countless ways. thank you!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by porchypants

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Tempe, Arizona, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 5, 2009
My mother-in-law shared a similar recipe with me years ago. Serve the cabbage and noodles, prepared with chicken broth for extra juice, on top of a piece of cornbread. Very simple, inexpensive meal.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 51-60 (of 173) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Christmas Appetizers
Christmas Appetizers

Dozens and dozens of appetizers perfect for the winter season.

The Season’s Best Sides
The Season’s Best Sides

Complete the meal with your favorite holiday side dishes.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Grandma's Polish Perogies

See how to make traditional potato and cheese-filled perogies.

Sweet Russian Cabbage Soup

See how to make a simple cabbage soup with ground beef and veggies.

Cabbage Roll Casserole

See how to make an easy, hearty, beef and cabbage casserole.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States