Polish Cabbage Noodles Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 4)
Reviewed: Mar. 6, 2011
This is outstanding. I always thought that there must be something tricky about this dish, but it really is so simple. I followed other reviewers' suggestions and it turned out perfectly: 1. Chop and salt the cabbage- let sit 10-15 min 2. Skip the onion 3. Saute cabbage in butter in a large deep sided skillet. 4.Add the cooked noodles to the cooked cabbage and let simmer on low to let the flavors mingle (because I salted the cabbage I had plenty of liquid for this step- I didn't have to add any liquid). 5. Season with pepper, but NOT salt (if the cabbage is salted, it will already be plenty salty)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Pittsburgh, Pennsylvania, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 4, 2011
This dish was very bland and the red onion seemed out of place. I added some sliced vegetarian sausage to it to kick it up a bit. Bf said it was better cold the next day.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by KitchenWitch

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Estacada, Oregon, USA
Living In: Eagle Creek, Oregon, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 17, 2010
Really good! I have had cabbage noodles with oil in the past and this was much lighter tasting. I did 1/2 margarine and 1/2 butter to cut some of the fat.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 13, 2010
My Grandmother was polish and she made this all the time but I twinked it up a bit my adding mushrooms and sauted them. if used canned mushrooms ensure to squeeze all the water from them they will soak up the butter mixture better for taste.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by TJCebula

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Iron River, Michigan, USA
Living In: Skandia, Michigan, USA
Reviewed: Nov. 10, 2010
Absolutely delicious.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 2, 2010
I would have liked a little more flavor, but I'm not quite sure what it was missing. Overall, great recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 13, 2010
in reading other reviews, I added a bit to it...fried Turkey Keilbasa (SP?) and some little slices of turkey bacon, removed, then added the butter, onion and cabbage. I splashed on some AC vinegar (1tsp maybe?), sprinkled some caraway seeds, put a dash of paprika and sauteed until the cabbage was tender-ish (I like a little crunch)- I put the keilbasa/bacon mixure back in and warmed it all up and served it next to the buttered noodles, so others (like my sometimes picky kids) could decide if they wanted to mix it or not. Thanks for the recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Bethany

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: San Pedro, California, USA
Living In: San Antonio, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 22, 2010
This is a great starter recipe Elizabeth. First of all it would be much better with Mrs Weiss Kluski noodles or better yet homemade if you have a good recipe as my Busia taught me. This authenticates the recipe. Browning the butter as one reviewer states is a must, it brings out the flavor of the cabbage and noodles. Don't make the mistake of burning the butter. Yellow onions are a better match as well. It's up to you and your tastebuds, but savoy cabbage is also a great choice. Either way it's a great Polish recipe to match with pork.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by MISTYGIRL72

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 16, 2010
Tasty! I added some chicken broth after tasting as it seemed a bit bland and it was perfect. Served with Polish sausage and it was a hit!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Houston, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 9, 2010
I added turkey sausage and a tablespoon of sugar (a must with cooked cabbage). It made a massive amount of food. Overall, it was bland and pretty average. The noodles were too much starch and food. I would make this as a side if I had leftover cabbage, but I will not make this again as a main dish.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 31-40 (of 173) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Top Dessert Recipes
Top Dessert Recipes

Rated, reviewed, and ready to satisfy your sweet cravings.

Best Party Recipes
Best Party Recipes

Essential eats, sips, and tips for your next gathering.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Grandma's Polish Perogies

See how to make traditional potato and cheese-filled perogies.

Sweet Russian Cabbage Soup

See how to make a simple cabbage soup with ground beef and veggies.

Cabbage Roll Casserole

See how to make an easy, hearty, beef and cabbage casserole.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States