Polish Cabbage Noodles Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 10)
Reviewed: Jul. 23, 2008
Don't knock it 'til you try it. We sat slack jawed in amazing grace at the flavor. I only gave 4 because I jazzed it up a bit. I can't imagine that it would be better or worse done per instruct-just different. Sautee in bacon fat, a clump of butter, chicken stock base, lots of black pepper. Don't let it get too limp. Al dete on the egg noodles, mix it like you mean it but don't break the noodles up. Taste as you go. We love it. New favorite. (No onion used)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 23, 2008
this recipe is wonderful!!! My kids eat it with the onions in it and all. definatly a family favorite.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Orwigsburg, Pennsylvania, USA
Living In: Pottsville, Pennsylvania, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 18, 2008
My mom always made this. I was searching recipes because I was sure there was more to cabbage & noodles than these few ingredients. But this is it! I made too much, so after my third day of leftovers I threw in some sour cream after I reheated it. It was wonderful!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by somecookin'
Reviewed: Jul. 7, 2008
uh-oh... this is way too yummy. I am definitely going to use another's suggestion of using chicken broth to cut down on the butter... and I like the paprika idea as well!!! I used a package of coleslaw mix- that saved lots of time for cutting and frying...they cooked real fast.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by somecookin'

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 27, 2008
I was a little concerned about this one. It sounded so simple yet unusual. It ended up being the hit at my Polish dinner party! People couldn't stop talking about it. Thanks!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Marieclaire0924

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 18, 2008
This is a meal in itself. I cooked up some bacon, reserved the grease and sauted the cabbage and onions in the grease and 1/4c. butter. I love bacon so it made it taste oh so good.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Cleveland, Ohio, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 17, 2008
delicious and easy! I use 8oz mushrooms instead of 1 of the onions, and veg broth in place of some of the butter. Great with polish, german, hungarian meals.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 30, 2008
We really liked this. I threw in turkey kielbasa which brings down the authenticity a few notches but it was so yummy!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Cincinnati, Ohio, USA
Living In: Cleveland, Ohio, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 20, 2008
Overall, this recipe was alright though not exciting. I used a red onion and half a white onion. I also added a pound of smoked turkey sausage. Without the sausage, I would have given the recipe a lower rating.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Sheri S.

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Novato, California, USA
Living In: Beaverton, Oregon, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 2, 2008
I learned how to make this dish while living in a very Polish down-state Illinois town. I always use home made noodles (or frozen) and serve it with ham or corned beef. Yum!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 91-100 (of 171) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

 Quick & Easy Grilling
Quick & Easy Grilling

Easy weeknight dinners, ready in a flash.

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Sweet Russian Cabbage Soup

See how to make a simple cabbage soup with ground beef and veggies.

Cabbage Roll Casserole

See how to make an easy, hearty, beef and cabbage casserole.

Braised Chicken Apple Sausages and Cabbage

See how to make a simple and comforting one-pot meal.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States