Polenta Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 5)
Reviewed: Jan. 31, 2008
This recipe is easy and yummy. I use these for breakfast. Once the polenta has cooled I cut with a round cookie cutter, freeze, thaw and brown in skillet as needed.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by wat2eat

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Orlando, Florida, USA
Living In: Brunswick, Maryland, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 12, 2008
Good recipe for basic polenta. Although a little vague, technically it is correct. Polenta refers to coarse-ground yellow cornmeal or the finished product.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 13, 2007
The instructions are not very clear and may confuse some people..."Polenta" is the finished meal..."Corn Meal" is the ingredient that is needed to make POLENTA., also I use 2 cups of cold water to 1 cup of cornmeal for a thicker polenta. To diminish any concerns of lumps, just add some corn meal to cold water, stir then add it to the boiling water and stir constantly.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
552 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Cookies
Living In: Hamilton, Ontario, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 8, 2007
In Romania, this is not cooked quite as long as this recipe says, and it is called mamaliga. We serve it with sour cream and/or feta-style salty cheese on top. It really is this simple, and it is a nice (and quicker) alternative to mashed potatoes.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by CBARBUSCA

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Bradenton, Florida, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 9, 2007
I agree with italiangirl that this needs less water - you just need to cut the heat when you put in the cornmeal. I took it a step further and put in about an eighth cup chopped up sundried tomato and about 3 TBSP prepared jar pesto. (I got the cheap stuff for $2.00 at Wally World). Some people may need salt, but it tasted just fine. Turned it our into an 8x8 pan to cool so it would have some shape. I was trying to come up with a way to make it into a tube (cylinder), similar to what is sold in the store, but nothing really fit the bill.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
39 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 11, 2007
This is the basic way to prepare polenta, which is cooked corn meal, I felt like giving it less stars b/c I was annoyed this recipe doesn't mention that. I pictured people walking through the store searching for polenta to add to the water...anyway, 3 parts water, one part cornmeal, and you have polenta. It take minutes to make before it thickens so don't be surprised based on the instructions. I like to chill mine a few hours then cut and grill it and top it with pasta sauce, grilled veggies and parm. yum!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
722 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by outnumbered
Home Town: Chicago, Illinois, USA
Living In: Flowery Branch, Georgia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 22, 2007
Very easy, but I only had to cook it for about 5 minutes until it was THICK. I used Quaker Yellow Cornmeal (Enriched and Degerminated)- I wonder if this is "quick cooking" polenta? Either way, it turned out good- I'm excited to fry some tomorrow!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
34 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by SOCCERPLAYR9999

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 19, 2007
I've made polenta all my life and have never had it take that long to cook -- usually only a few minutes before it thickens up. It helps eliminate lumps if you mix your cornmeal to a cup of cold water, then add that to boiling water. Great with pesto, tomato and sausage.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
411 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 17, 2007
perfect base polenta.....smooth and creamy
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 17, 2007
Easy and tasty. I was tired of rice, potatoes and pasta and now have a new carb side dish. Thanks
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
16 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 41-50 (of 59) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Labor of Love
Labor of Love

End summer with a bang with festive Labor Day recipes.

Healthier Lunches for Kids
Healthier Lunches for Kids

Send them to school with good-for-you food that’s tasty, too.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Chef John's Three Corn Polenta

Jazz up creamy polenta with fresh corn kernels.

How to Make Perfect Polenta

See a foolproof method for creamy, lump-free polenta.

Pesto Polenta Lasagna

See how to make delicious pesto and polenta lasagna.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States